We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book two nights and save!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Amanda, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

My wife and I along with our two adult kids stayed here for 3 days. We were in town for a family reunion. We were in and out running and walking all over town. The staff were very friendly and gracious. The accommodations were clean and inviting. The amenities we used were nice(the pool and exercise room). We had stayed here again for the third time over several years.The only disappointment we had was the stinky trash smell in the parking garage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for joining us again most recently for a family reunion. I am delighted to hear that you had time to enjoy the pool and fitness center while also spending time in the lovely downtown area of Staunton. I apologize for the odor from the parking garage and assure you that this has been taken care of. Please join us again for your next family gathering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    253
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
194
353
30
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

My husband and I celebrated our 41st wedding anniversary here. We were greeted with a bottle of champagne that was delivered to our room. The room was airy, clean, and comfortable, with a view of the mountains. We purchased the package, which included parking, fantastic breakfast buffets, and a play at the adjacent Blackfriar Playhouse. The hotel is downtown, so everything was in walking distance. The history, culture, shopping, and campus of Mary Baldwin campus make for the perfect weekend experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am honored that you chose to join us for such a special occasion. I always enjoy hearing of guest celebrations and look forward to making each a memorable experience. I agree that the area is stunningly beautiful with picturesque mountain views and wonderful places to visit all within walking distance of the hotel. I hope we will have the opportunity to host you again for a relaxing weekend or special celebration in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stayed here for 4 days for an event in Staunton. The hotel is spotless, very clean. I ordered room service one day and it was delicious (French toast). The staff is very friendly & superb cleaning staff. In walking distance of many places in downtown Staunton. Only cons were the $6 parking & the beds were a bit hard. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for joining us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. I am glad that you found the rooms to be clean and the staff to be hospitable during your stay. I also agree that the french toast is a must have when ordering room service breakfast here! We all look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Stayed two nights during our stay in Staunton. The hotel and staff were wonderful and the location lends itself to exploring downtown Staunton. In fact is is right next to the Blackfriar's Theater. The hotel offers a number of weekend and other specials…so check their web site before booking (for instance, our special included in/out parking and breakfast). Would definitely stay here again when visiting Staunton.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Staunton on a recent trip. The area is delightful and allows for great opportunities for exploration all within walking distance. Please visit again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I spent the night after seeing "A Comedy of Errors" at the Blackfriars next door to the hotel. It was a wonderful experience. The room was spotless, the service was excellant, and the food was very good. I plan to go back with my family so they can share in the experience.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Taking in a show at the Blackfriars is a wonderful way to spend an evening in Staunton, VA and even better when you get to spend the night at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center! Thank you for joining us and I look forward to welcoming you back when you bring the rest of the family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
Level Contributor
357 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Spontaneously stayed there while traveling south on I-81; were fatigued and needed a place to stay. Were we in for a pleasant surprise! This hotel is on the national historic register!
The entrance to the hotel is complicated to find, so don't give up. We unloaded the suitcases and my husband had to park in a nearby garage ( at no cost).
The lobby is historic and extremely interesting and beautifully decorated. Check out their website to see the gorgeous lobby. Old historic china is displayed in the glass wall displays. Hotel staff were extremely helpful.
Elevators available, very short wait.
Hallways were old and historic.
Rooms were a bit small, but quaint and clean. Coffee maker in the room and well stocked with tea bags, sweetener, etc.
Because of the size of the room, I wouldn't stay there for a week - just not enough room to spread out. For our overnight stay ( and then back to the interstate), it was just fine.
In the morning before leaving, we had a huge and delicious breakfast in the hotel dining room. Great ambiance and good food.

Would definitely stay there again - pleasant experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Spontaneous trips often times turn out to be the best or the ones with the most memories so I am glad you found us during your travels on Interstate 81. The hotel, which originally opened in 1924, went thru a complete renovation in 2005 that added additional function space and guest amenities such as the indoor pool and fitness center. The Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center still maintains its original charm and mystique while also providing guests modern convenience such as complimentary wifi. Thank you again for finding us and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

I wish I had known about the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in 2001 when I stayed in Staunton during the filming of Gods and Generals but I am sure happy I found it when I went back this May. I was there to help out at an art exhibit and the staff could not have been more helpful in assisting us in getting the show set up and in immediately taking care of whatever we needed. The rooms were delightful, clean, and large. I am not waiting another 13 years to go back and have already booked a long weekend in October. I am counting the days to be able to return and look forward to another perfect stay - and this one will not be a working weekend!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
I am thrilled that we were able to assist during a previous visit to the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center and truly appreciate the kind words regarding the hotel. We are delighted to be a part of the Staunton community and always enjoy the feedback from our guests. I am glad you will be returning in the fall for a relaxing trip and look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 88 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 323 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.