We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a little gem in Staunton, VA” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Midweek and Save!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“a little gem in Staunton, VA”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

My husband and I really enjoyed our three day stay. A beautiful historic hotel. Nice Sunday brunch buffet offered with very nice staff (on Sunday). The infused water that is complimentary is simply amazing. It is the best water we have ever had.
The hotel must have softened water and our skin and hair felt so much better just after 3 days.
Garage parking is only $4.00 each night. Very nice.
The a/c in our room functioned superbly!!
Our room was small but very nice. You won't be disappointed.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Thank you for taking a moment to review the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. It is always reassuring to hear that we have provided the type of experience you expect when staying at the hotel. The infused water has been a tremendous hit and something we will continue to have during the hot summer months as a nice welcome to our travelers. The original rooms are a bit on the cozy side, but certainly contain all the ammenties needed for a relaxing stay. Again, thank you for the kind words and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    223
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
167
319
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newtown, PA
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
144 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
422 helpful votes 422 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I saw the Stonewall Jackson Hotel on Priceline's Express Deals for $62 and grabbed it for our stay. Loved this old style hotel. We got a nice king room on the second floor. It was clean and the bed was comfortable. The TV had lots of HD channels and the internet was efficient.

Everything in town was in walking distance. The parking garage was convenient as the elevator brought us right to the lobby. The staff was friendly and answered our questions. This is fine place to fine after spending a full day in Shenandoah National Park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
I am truly delighted that you were able to join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center after spending time at the Shenandoah National Forest. There are so many great things to do and wonderful places to eat in downtown Staunton, which you point out are all within walking distance of the hotel. It is also good to hear that you found the ammenities and service to be to your liking. Thank you for the feedback and we look forward to hosting you again the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spotsylvania, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Enjoyed our third trip to this hotel to celebrate our 23rd anniversary with the Blackfriars package. This hotel is simply grand! No other word can describe it! Its main lobby and rooms take one back to a much earlier time when attention to details and customer service were the norm rather than the exception. In a time of large hotel chains, many of which are quite wonderful, this throw-back destination is worth the extra few miles away from the interstate. This place is clean-no, immaculate--well-maintained, no, working perfectly--and focused on the customer--no, feels like a personal staff waiting on you in your personal mansion! If you have time to stay for a while, enjoy the Blackfriars theater located next door. We've seen three shows there now and enjoyed each one immensely! Staunton is a changing town that is becoming quite the funky little spot to enjoy history, music, local foods, and art. Vibrant and charming, the town and the hotel are a perfect match where you will want to stay for the night, the weekend, or perhaps wish you could stay forever!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
What a fantastic review of our hotel, thank you so much for the kind words! I agree that the Shakespeare Theatre productions should not be missed when visiting the area. It makes for a wonderfully personal experience that cannot be duplicated anywhere in the world. Staunton is certainly one of the most charming and cultural rich cities in the Valley and we are happy to be a part of its history as well. We look forward to the opportunity of hosting you the next time your travels bring you to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

My husband and I visited Staunton for the Annual Wine and Jazz Festival so we decided to stay close by the event. I found this hotel through Trip Advisor and decided to book it for one night. The breakfast buffet was fabulous. Our waiter, JK, was awesome and really made our morning. The hotel room was quaint and the service was great. I would definitely visit again. This time before Sunday when all the shops are closed. Highly recommend!!!!

Room Tip: B&B package is wonderful!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. I am glad that you enjoyed the service, ammenities and breakfast that make the bed and breakfast package one to remember. It is a fantastic way to spend a quiet weekend or get-away during the week to experience the many lovely shops, boutiques and restaurants of downtown Staunton, VA. We appreciate you being our guest and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kitty Hawk, North Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I love this hotel. Grew up in Staunton and to be able to stay here after it's restoration is a great pleasure for me. The location is superb, food is good, and the hotel is very comfortable and clean. I highly recommend the historic Stonewall Jackson Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damon S, General Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. It is a great honor to be a part of the wonderful community of Staunton, VA and we are delighted that you have our "home" to stay at whenever you are visiting the area. We look forward to seeing you again and wish you many safe returns to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

This hotel is in downtown historic Staunton and was a wonderful place to stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful, but not hovering. We stayed in a king room that was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was spacious and also very clean (my pet peeve of hotels). The pool and fitness room were fine, not busy at all during our stay. It is in a wonderful place to walk around and see the downtown area. I believe we will be back to visit again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for your visit and for your feedback, we hope to see you again as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
waynesville,nc
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We spent one night at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and found it to be very nice. The bed was sooooooo comfortable. The room was very clean and pleasant. The staff was quick to recommend places near the hotel for dinner. We were not disappointed! The cost was comparable to cost of a chain, great surprise. You wouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Room with a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.