We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Midweek and Save!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Lexington, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Clean hotel, friendly helpful staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and had a blast! The staff is so nice and the rooms are clean with comfortable beds. The location is excellent for Staunton visitors. I would certainly recommened this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    223
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
167
319
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Charlottesville, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

My wife and I have enjoyed a number of romantic getaways around central Virginia. This was one of the best! The hotel is stylish, clean, comfortable and very well located close to some outstanding restaurant and entertainment options. It is right next door to the American Shakespeare Theatre. Even though it was cold, I did not bother with my coat for the 20 yard walk. We also very much enjoyed both the hotel food options and some top notch local restaurants like The Shack and Zynadoa. The Shack does not take reservations and you better be there by 5:15 pm if you want a seat before a show. I would definitely recommend this hotel. It is different than Greenbrier, Homestead, or Keswick Hall in that it is not as rural. However, it has its own unique grandeur and, frankly, I liked it better because there was a variety of interesting shops and restaurants within a few blocks and the hotel staff provided top notch service. You get top notch service at the other places, too. My point is that we did not feel that we had stepped down in terms of service. We will be back!

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a view towards the west or south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

This was the last night of a long trip as we were heading home from the deep south. We were tired and it was late afternoon when we arrived in Staunton for the first time. Well, downtown that is. We had stopped numerous times just outside of town for gas on our way to WV over the years but never ventured into downtown!

Anyway, we stopped at the Visitor's Center and were greeted by such a nice man who asked what we were looking for in a hotel and said while there were many choices, the Stonewall might suit us well. So we called and were able to book a beautiful room with a queen bed for a great price and the hotel was right around the corner! The room was lovely, the hospitality excellent, the bed very comfy, and parking was only $4.00 a night with the ability to leave and return using our room key! Perfect in every way.

From our hotel we walked to the Aioli Restaurant and had a fantastic dinner and did some window shopping on the walk back. The next morning we had a delicious breakfast in the hotel's lovely dining room and did some shopping at the great stores in town. We were able to do more in a short time there than so many other places! We will return to the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in the future and highly recommend it!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Love this hotel! Can't wait to return with our kids and attend another play at Blackfriars! Loved walking downtown and visiting all the quaint shops. you must eat at The Clocktower and get the homemade potato chips!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

Beautiful, historic hotel in the downtown area. Our room was lovely with a very comfortable bed. My only complaint was a surprise pet fee, $50.00 for one night. When I called to ask about a room and if pets were accepted, no one told me that the fee would be so high. our kennel charges less, and actually provides services to our dog. Our 15 lb terrier was no problem to them. For $50.00, they didn't even give us a doggy treat.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora, Ca
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

A local friend advised us to stay at the hotel while visiting him. We arrived during one of the rare winter storms to hit the area. We were most pleased by the indoor parking quite close to the elevator (we're walking handicapped). The check in staff was very friendly and most efficient. Room was clean, quiet, large, comfortable, and excellent. Freshly made breakfast was very tasty and more than sufficient. We were charmed by the southern hospitality and quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Made a return visit (our 4th) to the Stonewall Jackson, and it did not disappoint. Staff is always friendly and the buffet breakfast is quite good on the weekends, when the omelet chef is working. As usual, we enjoyed our king room in the historic section of the old hotel. It was brutally cold during our visit, but the hospitality was warm.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the historic wing, as each seems to be somewhat different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.