We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel in an interesting town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book mid-week and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Lake Ridge, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel in an interesting town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

I stayed at the Stonewall Jackson in Staunton during a conference just before Thanksgiving. The hotel was beautiful and wonderfully decorated for the Christmas season. My room was on the 4th floor and it was clean, spacious, comfortable and modern. I had a king size bed and, although near the elevators, it was quiet. The staff was very proper and helpful and the food available at their restaurant was really good. Again, the service was awesome. The only issue I had was that, due to heating system repairs, my room, with its large windows, tended to be a bit cold for my taste, so that I had to keep up the heat on high to maintain it to my liking.
The hotel is in a wonderful part of town, within walking distance of shops, attractions, and very good restaurants. I would definitively stay there again.

Room Tip: King size suites are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

578 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    184
    32
    7
    4
See reviews for
131
253
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
RALEIGH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I love Staunton and always stay here. We have been 6 or 7 times to this hotel. The hotel is well kept, comfortable and very convenient to the town...you can walk everywhere. It is always a relaxing weekend... Go to a play,enjoy the coffee shops, walk the streets, or head out to the mountains for a hike. Love it here!

Room Tip: Prefer the new tower ... Larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great staff. Great location. Rooms on historic side can be small & a bit quirky. Do be aware that if you are there of a Friday or Saturday night, there are often events in the two ballrooms that spill out into the lobby and can be a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIDGEWATER
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We chose this Historic Inns of America because of its location on a trip[ from north/central NJ to the Charlotte, NC area and because we like staying at places that have A lounge and restaurant where we can relax after driving many hours. This had those, but we were a bit disappointed that they were a little less elegant tan we would have liked. In fairness, the hotel had few guests at the time (not a time when there are many travelers, 11/20/2013) so the lounge/restaurant had only one other guest. The server was good as was the food.

Tom C.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is a very high quality hotel at a very reasonable rate. Located in downtown Staunton rather than at the interstate interchange, many entertainment venues such as restaurants, theaters, historic sites, stores, etc. are within easy walking distance. Even if staying just one night, being able to walk to good restaurants is a great benefit. As for the hotel, walking into the lobby, one encounters an impressive, immaculate site. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Overall, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Some grand old hotels are mostly old, some have charm, a few offer both. Not a luxury property, this is a great choice when compared with all the national chain hotels in the area. A little more expensive, but very comfy.

Room Tip: We took the first room we were shown and are happy we did. Quiet area, get a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having stayed here many times over the years, the service somehow seems to get better and better. You can't help but feel the history of the place and we have always been quite comfortable here. The proximity to the American Shakespeare Center is a huge advantage and you can meet some of the cast on Friday nights in the lounge if you are lucky.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.