We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at least once a year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
RALEIGH
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Stay at least once a year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

My family and I love Staunton and always stay here. We have been 6 or 7 times to this hotel. The hotel is well kept, comfortable and very convenient to the town...you can walk everywhere. It is always a relaxing weekend... Go to a play,enjoy the coffee shops, walk the streets, or head out to the mountains for a hike. Love it here!

Room Tip: Prefer the new tower ... Larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    434
    217
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
160
312
28
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Great staff. Great location. Rooms on historic side can be small & a bit quirky. Do be aware that if you are there of a Friday or Saturday night, there are often events in the two ballrooms that spill out into the lobby and can be a bit overwhelming.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRIDGEWATER
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

We chose this Historic Inns of America because of its location on a trip[ from north/central NJ to the Charlotte, NC area and because we like staying at places that have A lounge and restaurant where we can relax after driving many hours. This had those, but we were a bit disappointed that they were a little less elegant tan we would have liked. In fairness, the hotel had few guests at the time (not a time when there are many travelers, 11/20/2013) so the lounge/restaurant had only one other guest. The server was good as was the food.

Tom C.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is a very high quality hotel at a very reasonable rate. Located in downtown Staunton rather than at the interstate interchange, many entertainment venues such as restaurants, theaters, historic sites, stores, etc. are within easy walking distance. Even if staying just one night, being able to walk to good restaurants is a great benefit. As for the hotel, walking into the lobby, one encounters an impressive, immaculate site. The rooms are spacious, very clean, and comfortable. Overall, it is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Some grand old hotels are mostly old, some have charm, a few offer both. Not a luxury property, this is a great choice when compared with all the national chain hotels in the area. A little more expensive, but very comfy.

Room Tip: We took the first room we were shown and are happy we did. Quiet area, get a good night's sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Having stayed here many times over the years, the service somehow seems to get better and better. You can't help but feel the history of the place and we have always been quite comfortable here. The proximity to the American Shakespeare Center is a huge advantage and you can meet some of the cast on Friday nights in the lounge if you are lucky.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

Just stayed one night in this wonderful hotel in beautiful Staunton. My only complaint is that we couldn't stay longer. The lobby is sparkling and beautiful. We chose to stay in the historic section and yes the rooms are a bit small, which might be a problem for longer stays but was perfect for us. Everything was updated and very clean. The staff at the front desk was incredibly helpful with maps, reservations, etc. We arrived very early, around 9:30 am. Our room was ready and we quickly parked the car in the convenient parking around the street, took the elevator up, dropped off our suitcases and were off to enjoy Staunton for the day. We had booked a package which included breakfast, parking and theater which I thought was reasonable. I found breakfast to be excellent (we were there around 7:30, so it was very fresh). The theater seats were excellent, better than what was available online when I tried myslef, and it was so nice just walking next door when the show was over. We had a wonderful day exploring Staunton on foot and I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the City.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.