We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Pleasant 4th of July at The Stonewall Jackson” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book 2 nights and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
NYC
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
336 helpful votes 336 helpful votes
“A Pleasant 4th of July at The Stonewall Jackson”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2008

We enjoyed our 4th of July weekend at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. Good full-service hotel choice when visiting the Shenandoah Valley area. A plus was our 4th floor room looked out toward the direction of the Gypsy Hill fireworks display. We enjoyed the display from our room. Some guests took to the top deck of the hotel parking garage to watch the fireworks. We had an excellent email /online special 'Summer of '69" rate for $69 during the Summer of 2008. Also, the hotel has a "AAA" discount rate.

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is nicely renovated and convenient to everything in Staunton. We were in the new section in a double-double room. Good size room with a light and airy decor. The bathroom looked like it was brand new. Good positioning of the towel racks and hooks and soft water. We found the new wing to be quiet. Wonderfully comfortable beds and relatively quiet A/C. Convenient parking garage with a reasonable rate. The pictures on the hotel website give an accurate sense of the hotel.

The staff was friendly. Everyone in the town of Staunton was friendly! Nice low-key weekend getaway. Gloria at the Staunton Visitor Center was very helpful. The Center provides an excellent collection of tourist information about the entire area and the town trolley service. The town planners have done a nice job of preserving this historic quaint town. We had breakfast around the corner at a health food store with a little cafe called Cranberries Grocery. Some businesses were closed since it was the 4th of July holiday. Staunton is about an hour or so from James Madison's home Montpelier and Jefferson's Monticello. About 2-3 hours from the Washington, DC area.

  • Liked — Comfortable, classy and convenient
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    205
    34
    9
    4
See reviews for
150
287
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Harpers Ferry, West Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2008

My husband & I discovered Staunton, VA, last summer after having read about it and the area, and the Shenandoah Valley towns leading down to it, in the Washington Post over the years. We have returned twice already to enjoy this lovely gem of a city. It offers a quiet, friendly (everyone on the street says hello with a smile), walkable and beautiful (what architecture!) place to spend some time. (And just a 2-hour drive away.) We have three times then stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel - it is clean, newly renovated, convenient and perfect for what we need: a quiet, comfortable room in which to rest up. This last visit we did get a smaller room in the older section with a King-sized bed, and preferred the larger rooms with queen-sized beds - those rooms also seem to provide lovely cityscape views.

We will continue to stay at the Stonewall Jackson whenever we can manage to escape! We have already brought our mothers along, to see Staunton and catch a couple of plays; we will keep spreading the news.

(I agree about the elevators - they are slow. I would love to use the stairs but they seem a bit inconvenient. That is a shame.)

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — Small room with no views
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StonewallJacksonMgr, Stonewall Manager at Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this review, June 19, 2008
Thank you for your kind comments, we are happy that you have found out all the great things to see and do in our charming little town. To address one of your concerns, during peak times (such as check out time) the elevators (there are two to service our 5 floors) do get a lot of use and there can be some minor delays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
richmond,virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2008

Was at the hotel for a conference on March 3-6, 2008. Check in was great. Thank you Shaun F!! My room was on teh second floor of the hotel. Getting up to the room was very weird. There is a seperate elevator that takes you from the parking deck and then you switch in the lobby for the ones that go the rooms. Parkign is four dollars a day fyi. Rooms are small. My second floor room had a view of the roof. Room was clean. it consisted of a king size bed, two nightstands, desk and televsion. Small but reasonable closet. With the rooms being small, teh downside is that the bathroom and closet doors open out into the room. There is no exhaust fan in the bathroom. Wind noise for some reason was really bad along that hallway. Doors and walls are really thin. Quite a bit of light crpet through underneath and along the sides of doors. Excersize room and pool area are clean. You will need to room key to gain access. Jacuzzi is warm and pool don't think was heated but was refreshing after the pool. Bartender Ashley was great and the louge area was clean and quite relaxing with the gas fireplace.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2008

Other reviews here are pretty accurate. I agree 100% that the walls and doors are thin. Fortunately our floor was relatively empty during our stay, but we easily heard the neighbors and anybody walking by and chatting in the hallway. Pack your earplugs.

Our queen bed room in the "historic wing" was on the small side, comparable to what you'd get in a city center hotel in Europe.

The hotel website offers a "bed and breakfast" rate that includes the hotel's breakfast buffet during your stay. I suggest passing on it. The breakfast was mediocre, as was the service. A huge wedding party took up most seats on the Sunday morning we were there, which overwhelmed the restaurant staff and led to long waits for a table, at the omelet station, etc. (and the staff constantly complaining to you about it). Buffet items were not restocked, and many serving stations lacked tongs or spoons for serving. There are better places for breakfast in Staunton, so save your money and don't bother eating at the hotel.

Blackfriar's playhouse is right next door, and it's an easy walk to the Woodrow Wilson museum, so this hotel is in a very convenient location. Most downtown shops were closed by 4 pm on a Saturday, so if you're planning to explore do it during the day.

Stayed March 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2008

The Stonewall Jackson was very clean with comfortable beds and really nice linens. There also were no odors, which was great. The walls are a bit thin, but luckily our neighbors quieted down very early. Its location in the historic area is so convenient to restaurants, shoppes and movie theaters. We were visiting our son at JMU and drove the extra 30 miles, because the hotel (and town) are so much nicer than anything in the Harrisonburg area. I did wonder who picked out the carpeting in the hallways (psychedelic). There is a Shakespeare Theatre right next door. We did not eat at the hotel, because there are so many other choices. We look forward to staying there again. The hotel was not able to match the Hotels.com room rate, so we booked it through Hotels.com.

  • Liked — comfort and cleanliness
  • Disliked — color selection for bedding and carpet (something more neutral, please)
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2008

We just spent a lovely weekend in Staunton, and chose the Stonewall Jackson mainly because it wasn't a B&B (we're both 25, and didn't feel like a B&B was exactly our speed). The location, first off, is prime. Walking down hill half a block will put you at the head of the main shopping/dining street in the town. Seeing as it was February in the mountains, this was extremely nice. We were able to leave the room 5 minutes before a dinner reservation, and still made it there on time!
The hotel itself is emaculate. The lobby is open and clean, but not cold-feeling. There are couches and chairs to sit in and relax. There's a fireplace by the lobby bar, perfect for a quiet after dinner drink. The staff was extremely polite (more so that we're used to, having lived outside NYC and DC all our lives). Breakfast was delicious, and the staff in the restaurant were over-the-top courteous.
The only complaint I really have is that the walls and doors are thin! We could hear what I hope was our neighbor coughing and groaning on the first night (Saturday). And on Sunday night, some people were having a great conversation in the hallway, which we could clearly hear.
Other than the thin walls, we absolutely loved the Stonewall Jackson, and would definately go back.

  • Liked — location, atmosphere, staff
  • Disliked — thin walls, small room
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brookeville, Maryland
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2008

We go to Staunton once or twice a year, mainly to attend performances at the excellent Blackfriars playhouse next door. This year we booked a room with 2 queen-size beds since that room was larger than the king-bed room we've had earlier. That afforded us more space overall. We took one of their packages: bed and breakfast plus parking t for $104 per night (for 2) in late Dec., adding to that two $99 packages for 6 plays each from Blackfriars (we'll return later to see 3 more plays since it's good for a year). The buffet breakfast in the hotel dining room was very nice -- and one can "upgrade" to the marvelous Sunday brunch for a few $$ more. Their exercise room offers several different machines and is under-utilized -- the smalllish pool is adjacent. We've found several good restaurants within walking distance including a small one that offered afternoon tea. Unfortunately, it and several others are closed on Sunday afternoon. (Generally agree with other positive comments about bathrooms, etc.)

  • Liked — Comfort, Blackfriars next door.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.