We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short but pleasant stay on the way to Asheville, NC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book mid-week and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Short but pleasant stay on the way to Asheville, NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Since Staunton was about half way for us, we chose the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. It was clean, comfortable, and in a convenient location. We were able to walk to the Woodrow Wilson House and museum, cafes, restaurants, and charming shops. If you go on a weekend, entertainment including a lovely theater venue are nearby. There are two movie theaters as well. Upon leaving, it is a short drive to Bedford, VA, to see a moving tribute to D-Day. We would definitely stay here again should we return to the area.

Room Tip: Since this is an older hotel, rooms are small but well-maintained, clean, and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

599 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    193
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
135
264
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Virginia, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

I do not know where to begin. All morning long, as we've been happily discussing the wedding weekend with the bride and groom and my husband and mom and everyone else, we keep coming back to what a wonderful decision it was to have the wedding in Staunton and to have the reception at the Stonewall Jackson. It was a glorious experience from start to finish. The catering manager was a joy to work with - always responsive, helpful, creative in his problem solving, and so very positive. The ease of the planning process left me confident that we made the right choice. But until the wedding weekend actually began to unfold, I am not sure I really knew how great it would be.


I don't dare start listing names, because I would no doubt inadvertently leave many out, but the staff at the Stonewall is top notch. And that goes for every department. For the hotel, I know that there is probably both a blessing and a curse to hosting a large extended group of family and friends for a wedding weekend. Lots of questions. Lots of enthusiasm. Lots of folks coming and going at all hours. A few folks who likely left their rooms in a condition slightly less tidy than I want to know about. But it was also a gathering of folks who were there for a loving and joyful purpose, and every member of the staff treated them with warmth and respect and assisted them wherever needed. I cannot begin to tell you how many people are now determined to return again to Staunton and to explore more of the area. I know one couple in our family who couldn't be with us, but they were hearing such wonderful things from everyone about the Stonewall, that they have already booked it for their anniversary in a few weeks. And an older guest, who has travelled extensively, gave high praise to her handicap accessible room.


As for the reception, there are no words. It was everything we had hoped for. The food, the drink, the staff - perfectly perfect. Even when we encountered bumps, it was handled with respect and concern.
I am not sure I had ever before had such a bird's eye view of how many, many people from the hotel staff it takes to pull off a wedding. It seemed like a cast of thousands. So many details, so many moving parts, such late and long hours. And the end result was a weekend of special memories for our family and friends, as well as a beautiful start for the bride and groom. Please pass on our appreciation to them all.


We look forward to returning to Staunton and to the Stonewall Jackson!

Room Tip: We booked the 1 bedroom suite for the bride and groom. It was very spacious. Should we return with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Please keep in mind if you plan to stay here that they cater to school groups, weddings, and bus trips. That is there main focus. We stayed one night while on our way to the outer banks. We were looking for something quiet so we could have a nice dinner and get a good night's sleep. The room was clean, but very small. We were above a banquet room with music that was very loud and shook the room (no lie). We called down to front desk and they had nothing to say but to tough it out. When the party ended, the people downstairs came up to the floor we were on and continued to be loud until 3:00 a.m. I talked to front desk again in the morning and they really didn't care. Their only focus was on the large groups staying there. I was very disappointed.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay, get a room up on a high floor and inquire about any group activities taking p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ohio
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were in town for a wedding and this hotel was chosen as the place for guests to stay. Great choice. It's a tastefully appointed old property with a big lobby and big breakfast rooms. You can't go wrong staying here. The room was a bit small, but it was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is full of cozy and quaint. It is clean, the hotel staff are friendly and solicitous. The food is tasty, even though there are lots of places in town to try, this hotel is great for breakfast and a snack in the evening, too. The location is wonderful. The rooms are tidy and modern. No question history meets what you would want in a hotel for today, so stay! Here. Truly.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new section, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel retains its historic charm while providing high quality, modern amenities. The front desk staff was extraordinarily helpful. Every request we made was fulfilled with speed and enthusiasm. Everyone – the wait staff, the chambermaids, the repairman – was gracious and friendly. When making our reservation, we were warned that our room (Room 300) was small. By American standards, this was probably true. But anyone who has stayed in a major city around the world would be thrilled to have this much space. We found it quite comfortable. The fabulous Blackfriars Playhouse is right next door to the hotel. The food at the breakfast buffet was only so-so; everything else about the hotel was first class.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hall (300, 400, etc) are a great value, but if you want a large room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
151 helpful votes 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was in town on a business trip and stumbled upon this hotel. I'm glad I did. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The bed was fantastic.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When passing on in the hall they all had a smile and said "hello".

Everything downtown is within walking distance which is also is a plus.

If ever I'm in the area I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.