We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Staunton (and you should consider a trip there!) Stay here, no question.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book two nights and save!
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Centreville, Virginia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If you are in Staunton (and you should consider a trip there!) Stay here, no question.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is full of cozy and quaint. It is clean, the hotel staff are friendly and solicitous. The food is tasty, even though there are lots of places in town to try, this hotel is great for breakfast and a snack in the evening, too. The location is wonderful. The rooms are tidy and modern. No question history meets what you would want in a hotel for today, so stay! Here. Truly.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new section, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MargieAnnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

848 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel retains its historic charm while providing high quality, modern amenities. The front desk staff was extraordinarily helpful. Every request we made was fulfilled with speed and enthusiasm. Everyone – the wait staff, the chambermaids, the repairman – was gracious and friendly. When making our reservation, we were warned that our room (Room 300) was small. By American standards, this was probably true. But anyone who has stayed in a major city around the world would be thrilled to have this much space. We found it quite comfortable. The fabulous Blackfriars Playhouse is right next door to the hotel. The food at the breakfast buffet was only so-so; everything else about the hotel was first class.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hall (300, 400, etc) are a great value, but if you want a large room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnObservantTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
187 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was in town on a business trip and stumbled upon this hotel. I'm glad I did. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The bed was fantastic.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When passing on in the hall they all had a smile and said "hello".

Everything downtown is within walking distance which is also is a plus.

If ever I'm in the area I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ajayhawkfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Great views, great location. There are many shops, restaurants and attractions within walking distance, but bring comfy shoes - this is one hilly place. The employees in every capacity at the hotel were each so gracious and nice. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay again - next time I'll bring the husband and stay for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Bring walking shoes to get around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tncutt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

You will not be disappointed - the location is great!!!! I was completely blown away by the beauty, cleanliness, superior food and awesome staff!!!!! This is a beautifully restored historic hotel located in the heart of historic Staunton, Virginia. This is a definite gem!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VirginiaPam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson on a Saturday, for one night. The historic hotel is awesome! Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable. The room was quite, we did not hear any outside noises. The room included air conditioning, an iron and board, hair dryer. The gym was decent enough. We used the laundry room. The front desk staff was wonderful. This is the place to stay in Staunton!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Buddy021807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second stay and we weren't disappointed. The courtesy, cleanliness, attention to detail were all there. Two little suggestions: 1) Maids shouldn't have noisy breaktimes in the hallways in mid-afternoon. Some people like a nap before dinner and the theatre and some may have small chikdren needing a nap. 2) When the pool rules stipulate a shower (as they should), a shower near the pool is necessary. Sweaty people go directly from the gym into the pool and hot tub, diminishing the experience of a lovely accomodation. But, overall, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank eileen645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#1 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 405 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 121 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 347 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing