We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are in Staunton (and you should consider a trip there!) Stay here, no question.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book mid-week and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“If you are in Staunton (and you should consider a trip there!) Stay here, no question.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This hotel is full of cozy and quaint. It is clean, the hotel staff are friendly and solicitous. The food is tasty, even though there are lots of places in town to try, this hotel is great for breakfast and a snack in the evening, too. The location is wonderful. The rooms are tidy and modern. No question history meets what you would want in a hotel for today, so stay! Here. Truly.

Room Tip: Choose a room in the new section, high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    192
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
135
263
22
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This lovely hotel retains its historic charm while providing high quality, modern amenities. The front desk staff was extraordinarily helpful. Every request we made was fulfilled with speed and enthusiasm. Everyone – the wait staff, the chambermaids, the repairman – was gracious and friendly. When making our reservation, we were warned that our room (Room 300) was small. By American standards, this was probably true. But anyone who has stayed in a major city around the world would be thrilled to have this much space. We found it quite comfortable. The fabulous Blackfriars Playhouse is right next door to the hotel. The food at the breakfast buffet was only so-so; everything else about the hotel was first class.

Room Tip: The rooms at the end of the hall (300, 400, etc) are a great value, but if you want a large room mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
115 hotel reviews
Reviews in 109 cities Reviews in 109 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I was in town on a business trip and stumbled upon this hotel. I'm glad I did. The room was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom. The bed was fantastic.

The staff was very helpful and pleasant. When passing on in the hall they all had a smile and said "hello".

Everything downtown is within walking distance which is also is a plus.

If ever I'm in the area I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Stayed here for a conference. Great views, great location. There are many shops, restaurants and attractions within walking distance, but bring comfy shoes - this is one hilly place. The employees in every capacity at the hotel were each so gracious and nice. The rooms were quiet and comfortable. Would definitely stay again - next time I'll bring the husband and stay for a long weekend.

Room Tip: Bring walking shoes to get around town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

You will not be disappointed - the location is great!!!! I was completely blown away by the beauty, cleanliness, superior food and awesome staff!!!!! This is a beautifully restored historic hotel located in the heart of historic Staunton, Virginia. This is a definite gem!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson on a Saturday, for one night. The historic hotel is awesome! Our room was clean and comfortable. The bed was super comfortable. The room was quite, we did not hear any outside noises. The room included air conditioning, an iron and board, hair dryer. The gym was decent enough. We used the laundry room. The front desk staff was wonderful. This is the place to stay in Staunton!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was our second stay and we weren't disappointed. The courtesy, cleanliness, attention to detail were all there. Two little suggestions: 1) Maids shouldn't have noisy breaktimes in the hallways in mid-afternoon. Some people like a nap before dinner and the theatre and some may have small chikdren needing a nap. 2) When the pool rules stipulate a shower (as they should), a shower near the pool is necessary. Sweaty people go directly from the gym into the pool and hot tub, diminishing the experience of a lovely accomodation. But, overall, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.