We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious and solid. A pleasant surprise.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Midweek and Save!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Gracious and solid. A pleasant surprise.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Booked last minute during road trip with 2 teens. You never know what you will get on the road but we were ever so pleasantly surprised. Rooms are clean, comfortable, reasonable size with heat and air conditioning that worked. Importantly, adequate number of electrical outlets for charging despite being a historic hotel. Bathrooms were modern and well appointed. The historic nature of the building is fun (large red sign visible from a distance, wide wide hallways, old style fire hoses) and a break from the usual chain experience. Note: Small extra charge for convenient underground parking.

It is a few miles off the highway but worth the slight detour. Historic Staunton looks like it stepped right out of the movies. Loved the little "Coffee on the Corner," an independent coffee house.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

723 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    223
    42
    10
    4
See reviews for
167
319
28
99
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

On our way to West Virginia to ski, we had to get off the road due to blowing snow. We called and got a great rate on rooms here. We had free, covered parking for loading/unloading the cars, which was great due to the storm. We walked to a restaurant in town. After, the kids burned off energy in the pool. Breakfast, though not free, was delicious. We will stay here again on future trips west.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

I stay there twice a year for a board meeting. The hotel is located in the middle of town. Near all of the downtown shopping and restaurants. The rooms are small but clean. The staff is very helpful. The food is good. The price is high compared to value but is the nicest place in town.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

The Stonewall Jackson Hotel is not a bit like it's namesake. Whereas Stonewall the General was taciturn, expected a lot of those around him, and sucked on lemons, Stonewall the Hotel is friendly, gracious, makes sure that all the creature comforts are provided for, and the breakfast in the old fashioned Dining Room is as good as it gets.

This is a classic refurbished hotel from the early twentieth century and a Historic Hotels of America member. My wife and I have stayed there many times over the years on business and we always are pleased and look forward to returning.

The lobby is charming with high ceilings, a mezzanine balcony, and is a wonderfully comfortable place to meet and greet or just relax and read. There is a lobby bar tucked away unobtrusively so as not to be seen from the main lobby and a very old fashioned high ceiling end dining room. Because this hotel is only three blocks from the railroad station it started out as a railroad hotel and Amtrak still runs The Cardinal from New York to Chicago (with sleeper service) with stops in Staunton and nearby Charlottesville.

Next door to the hotel is the American Shakespeare Theater for world class Shakespeare (think Judi Dench) and three blocks away is the Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library, Museum, and Birthplace for history buffs.

Staunton itself is a picture postcard with lots of shops and would make Charles Kurault or Alistair Cooke pleased. A short trip by train to Staunton, with a delightful stay at The Stonewall Jackson is highly advised for those with stress induced hypertension.

The rooms are smallish by modern standards given the age of the place but Immensely comfortable and very quiet. There is convenient underground self parking with an elevator right into the lobby so weather is not an issue.

I've stayed there many times and my guilty secret is that the bacon at breakfast is thick, crispy and plentiful. Take an extra Lipitor but it's worth the risk!

Room Tip: It's a hill town in the Shenandoah Valletta so the views from the upper floors are much better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

The Stonewall is by far the best hotel you'll find in the Staunton area with its great location and it's well maintained facilities. However, the hotel struggles with limitations due to it's age. It's great for Staunton, but average when compared to most locations.

Pros
1. Location: The Stonewall is centrally located in Staunton's historic district. The Shakespeare theater and most of the best restaurants are a short walk away.
2. Clean: The rooms and hotel were in an immaculate state. Even though we didn't ask them to clean our room, we still got a bag of clean towels.

Cons
1. Room Size: At least our room was pretty small. The king bed dominated the room and when certain doors were opened it made parts of the room feel impassable. The owners are to be complimented on keeping an old hotel up to date but that can't change the room sizes.
2. Pillows: The bed was average, while the pillows were tiny by comparison. We actually ended up using pillows we had in the car since the ones on the bed were so puny.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place will work for you unless you have chatterboxes in an adjacent room. I had trouble getting to sleep for the incessant, inane conversations taking place. I finally got dressed and went out into the hall thinking it was coming from right outside the door...but there was nobody there. I should have turned on the TV, I guess. I did fall asleep, but when I awoke early, they were still going at it. Unbelievable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was the flagship hotel in Virginia in the 1920s. It was renovated in 2003 I think and has all the warmth and charm you could ever want in a hotel. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are nice and fairly priced. No big differences amongst the rooms so you really can't go wrong, As usual stay away from rooms located next to stairwells and elevators. The lobby is a great place to relax and has a small bar/restaurant area with a fireplace. Food is excellent. Service at bar is outstanding. Attached parking garage with direct and easy access to hotel. The Blackfriar Theatre is attached. Lots of great shopping and restaurants within a 5 block radius. Breakfast is excellent but we are light breakfast eaters but I can't imagine being diappointed. This is the 5th time I have stayed at SJ and highly recommend. This hotel is centrally located and you really don't need to drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same. Rooms with 2 double beds have a bit more space then those wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.