We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, but” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book mid-week and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Nice place, but”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This place will work for you unless you have chatterboxes in an adjacent room. I had trouble getting to sleep for the incessant, inane conversations taking place. I finally got dressed and went out into the hall thinking it was coming from right outside the door...but there was nobody there. I should have turned on the TV, I guess. I did fall asleep, but when I awoke early, they were still going at it. Unbelievable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    361
    191
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
135
263
21
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This hotel was the flagship hotel in Virginia in the 1920s. It was renovated in 2003 I think and has all the warmth and charm you could ever want in a hotel. Staff is very friendly. Rooms are nice and fairly priced. No big differences amongst the rooms so you really can't go wrong, As usual stay away from rooms located next to stairwells and elevators. The lobby is a great place to relax and has a small bar/restaurant area with a fireplace. Food is excellent. Service at bar is outstanding. Attached parking garage with direct and easy access to hotel. The Blackfriar Theatre is attached. Lots of great shopping and restaurants within a 5 block radius. Breakfast is excellent but we are light breakfast eaters but I can't imagine being diappointed. This is the 5th time I have stayed at SJ and highly recommend. This hotel is centrally located and you really don't need to drive.

Room Tip: All the rooms are pretty much the same. Rooms with 2 double beds have a bit more space then those wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I always enjoy staying here. Staff is very friendly, rooms are great, very clean, followed by very good breakfast buffet in the morning.
The hotel is in a great location in the middle of very historic Staunton.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

We stayed in this hotel because my husband had a conference there. The hotel was beautiful and clean, and very friendly. We used the pool and hot tub, and it was also very enjoyable. The breakfast was ABSOLUTELY the best breakfast I have had at a hotel in a very long time. It is kind of pricey, but for us, it was included in our package. We also ate dinner there one night, and it was also very good. While my hubby was conferencing, I was shopping! I was able to walk downtown and to the wharf shops easily and loved the location of this hotel to everything in the area. We will definitely go back and probably do a play at the Black Friar's Playhouse next time (which is just next door!)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you're ever in downtown Staunton. The rooms are a little tiny but there's a lot of historic value to this hotel to offset the size. The lobby and breakfast area is great. Everything is walking distance in downtown is walking distance from the hotel. Parking is free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

We love having friends stay at SJ and showing them our wonderful city. We also enjoy going there for special events such as gals and events. This is a wonderful addition to our downtown. Best of all, we love gong there on Tuesday's for Jazz night with Jennifer and Bert. Marshall the bartender is outstanding. Carol Simon and her staff are friendly and so accommodating. We stayed there when we were in transition of moving and loved it.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

have stayed here before- came over when we lost power- the hotel is well kept, while the rooms are a tad plain, they are nice, only issue was the shower sort of struggle a bit. however, the lobby is nice and above all, the staff here is wonderful, they are great people and so helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Tingo, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.