We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Single woman on the road” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Book mid-week and save!
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Flat Rock, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Single woman on the road”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

I stayed at this location for three nights for a Regional meeting. The hotel is in a good location with great dining options within walking distance. Very clean hotel. Rooms cozy and bed is very comfortable. Great meeting space. The bar has very limited menu for the evening meal but the dining room is open for breakfast and lunch. These meals were very good. I would stay here again when in this area.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    351
    183
    31
    7
    4
See reviews for
131
252
21
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
VA
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We really enjoyed our little get away to Staunton. We got the American Shakespeare Package and how convenient that the theatre is right next door. The play was awesome, the room very comfortable and the buffet breakfast yummy. We'll definitely be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

The service staff was wonderful. Just a gorgeous lobby and quaint little bar . The rooms are clean and modern. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying over in Staunton. The town is loaded with restaurants and small boutique shops.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Well located in downtown Staunton, VA, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center was the perfect place to stay to enjoy the history of the area. And, it is within walking distance of many shops and restaurants. We chose to stay in the original historic hotel building which is lovely, but with smaller sized rooms than the addition. The room was well-appointed with a very nice sized bathroom. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The lobby is in the grand style with both a restaurant and lobby bar. Parking was in a deck attached to the hotel with a very convenient elevator to the hotel lobby ... and the nightly fee was extremely reasonable. It is the perfect place to stay to explore Staunton, Charlottesville and to visit Monticello.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond,Virginia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed in the Stonewall Jackson for a weekend after having bid on a weekend package at the hotel in a charity auction. We had never been to Staunton before, but were pleasantly surprised about both the town and the hotel.
Our room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. The location was great for walking, with some very good restaurants within blocks (Zyndoa, Mill Street Grill recommended). Downtown Staunton had enough shops and things to keep us busy, including the nighttime 'ghost tour'.
We had breakfast both days - the service as well as the food was excellent. We did walk to a coffee shop a few blocks away for a stronger cup of coffee.
Check-in and out was fast and easy, with very friendly small-town type service.
Parking was in the garage directly connected with the hotel, and at $4 a day was very reasonable.
All in all a very surprising weekend in a place we didn't have any advance knowledge of.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Masachusett
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a great stop over place between Boston and Georgia or North Carolina. An elegant hotel at a cost just a bit more than many of the area motels. The staff is friendly and rooms are comfortable. With a return coupon we even had a great breakfast before going back on the road.
With a covered garage, packing the car is easy when it might be snowing or raining. Close to the hotel are a number of restaurants, movies, and specialty shops. Our favorite the Mill Restaurant is just across the street and open fairly late most nights in case you are arriving later in the day hungry. We've stayed there in the past but last month we stopped in twice. Staff even managed to retrieve my computer plug left dangling the other day. Hooray!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a renovated downtown historic hotel with beautiful wood and marble. Rooms are nicely appointed with modern conveniences. Great location for heading into the mountains for the day. Nice breakfast buffet. Makes you wonder why you don't get off the interstate more often and look for a hotel. Take time to enjoy The Stonewall Jackson Hotel and downtown Staunton, Virginia.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor or Groupon for a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Tingo, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.