We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A step back in time.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Laurel, Delaware
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A step back in time.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a renovated downtown historic hotel with beautiful wood and marble. Rooms are nicely appointed with modern conveniences. Great location for heading into the mountains for the day. Nice breakfast buffet. Makes you wonder why you don't get off the interstate more often and look for a hotel. Take time to enjoy The Stonewall Jackson Hotel and downtown Staunton, Virginia.

Room Tip: Check Trip Advisor or Groupon for a special rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    202
    34
    8
    4
See reviews for
143
276
26
94
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
NYC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

If you are looking for a place to stay in western Virgina along Route 81.. stop there. Nice hotel and interesting little town. Food at the hotel bar was over priced ("artisnal" cream cheese). Go outside, there are a number of coffee shops around near the hotel

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Loved this place. Small rooms with big atmosphere. Great location. Very close to all top attractions and university. Very close to some great wineries. You will love the breakfast buffet. Close to all major highways.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The staff members at this beautiful historic hotel are extremely friendly and helpful. We were welcomed by the front desk staff and all parts of our "Shakespeare Package" were explained. When we asked about parking, he smiled kindly and told us not to worry, but instead go get settled and then come back to move our car. He also asked if we needed any help with our luggage. It had a very upscale feel for a very reasonable price. Our room was nice with comfortable seating and bedding. Nothing super fancy, but accommodating nonetheless. We loved the fact that it's within walking distance of many of Staunton's premier historic, artistic, and dining establishments. The breakfast buffet left something to be desired, but overall, we had a great stay and already booked our next stay with them!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

This is the Best hotel in Staunton because it has great views & wifi, comfy beds, excellent food, and friendly service. The water pressure was excellent too. We will definitely stay here again. They promote the breakfast buffet but you can request and order off the menu. The Classic Breakfast is tons of food and only costs $5.50. The coffee (in the restaurant) is the smoothest coffee I have EVER had!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville, VA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We enjoyed our first holiday meal at the Stonewall Jackson at Thanksgiving this year and we were so delighted that we came back for Christmas. This is our new family tradition for both holidays.

The food is excellent, the ambiance lovely, and the staff warm and welcoming, from the person who takes your reservation to the servers, they just can't do enough for you. Christmas decorations were already up when we came for Thanksgiving, which put everyone in a festive mood which was carried over for the Christmas meal today.

If you are looking for the perfect venue to enjoy a delicious holiday meal (no cooking, and no cleanup!), with people who make you feel welcome, then put the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in Staunton on your list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a suite for 2 nights and was the best little family gathering. We decorated the living area and dined at Sorrell's. Grandaughters had a sleepover and swam in pool in the morning. They said it felt like the beach! Staff were wonderful especially when it came to disposing of big toy boxes! Lobby was warm and inviting.
We stay at the SJ often, but this was tops!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.