We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make holiday meals here a tradition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay Midweek and Save!
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Charlottesville, VA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Make holiday meals here a tradition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We enjoyed our first holiday meal at the Stonewall Jackson at Thanksgiving this year and we were so delighted that we came back for Christmas. This is our new family tradition for both holidays.

The food is excellent, the ambiance lovely, and the staff warm and welcoming, from the person who takes your reservation to the servers, they just can't do enough for you. Christmas decorations were already up when we came for Thanksgiving, which put everyone in a festive mood which was carried over for the Christmas meal today.

If you are looking for the perfect venue to enjoy a delicious holiday meal (no cooking, and no cleanup!), with people who make you feel welcome, then put the Stonewall Jackson Hotel in Staunton on your list.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    475
    242
    45
    10
    5
See reviews for
186
343
30
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Indiana, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We had a suite for 2 nights and was the best little family gathering. We decorated the living area and dined at Sorrell's. Grandaughters had a sleepover and swam in pool in the morning. They said it felt like the beach! Staff were wonderful especially when it came to disposing of big toy boxes! Lobby was warm and inviting.
We stay at the SJ often, but this was tops!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We were in town to see A Christmas Carol at the Blackfriars Playhouse and had the pleasure of staying at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center. Maybe the best part of our stay at the Stonewall was being able to enjoy the breakfast buffet. The food was delicious and the dining room lovely.
I would like to give a special recognition to our server, Phillip, who took very good care of us!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012 via mobile

Stayed overnight for a short conference. Lobby (actually all the public rooms) were decorated beautifully for Christmas. I was concerned when in my room between meetings with the noise level in the hallway. But once the evening ended all was perfectly quiet. The bed and linens were so clean and comfortable. I heard that there had been a recent renovation and it shows. Bath was equipped beautifully, meeting areas were kept well stocked with refreshments and drinks. Staff was very friendly despite the number of people in our group. (Estimate 125-150 persons....). The "continental" breakfast rivaled Embassy Suites buffets...plenty of choices, fresh fruit, just perfect. If I had to be away from home, this was a great place to stay. Wish I had more time as the town itself was calling me to shop. Many wonderful and unique shops, restaurants, etc. well within walking distance. About 50 feet to the left of the front door is a replica of the Blackfriar theater of European distinction, and while the play that night was not my cup of tea, I walked with co-workers about two blocks to the Depot Grill for an excellent dinner. I will be visiting on personal time again soon - thank you for a quality stay.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COLUMBIA
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed the Tuesday before Thanksgiving using a Shakespeare package with a really good price for tickets, room, parking and breakfast and mostly enjoyed the hotel. The performance next store (handy) was excellent. We had a corner room on the 6th floor which was spacious and clean. The breakfast was very good. My negative issue was that the heating system cycled on with a loud clunk about every hour or so. I am not a light sleeper, but the noise was enough to wake me each time. They have done a great job refurbishing the facility and maybe I had a faulty system. I hope they're not all that loud. Except for that, I would give the place a much higher rating and will probably return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shenandoah National Park, Virginia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here for two days during Thanksgiving and glad we did. Outstanding facility, location (steps away from the famous Shakespeare Theater), and unsurpassed service. The lobby is lovely, the on-site restaurant is wonderful which offers a great breakfast buffet both during the week and weekends. Favorite waiter is Sadiq who took great care of us. We had not a complaint during our entire stay. The bed was very comfortable, and the room quiet.

The hotel is conveniently located just a block off Beverly Street, the main shopping street in downtown Staunton. There are many close restaurants, coffee shops, boutiques and more, well within walking distance. We feel we were offered A-1 service and have already stayed there again since our initial visit. Affordable as well!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

husband had a seminar, so I came along as a happy-birthday treat. The lobby is beautifully decorated for Christmas, the service was wonderful, but unfortunately the noise was quite remarkable. Apparently there was a sorority party in the restaurant downstairs in the lobby, so we had to go out for dinner, and the dj had the bass and volume up so loud all we could hear was massive thumping of the drums, until midnight. I called the desk and complained, and they said they would turn the volume down but there's no way they did. This morning, soooo tired from my sleepless night.

Room Tip: Ask for a room far from the lobby-there are parties and dances that are very loud, and there's n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Staunton hotels
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#2 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 348 reviews
1.7 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#3 of 16 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 78 reviews
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#4 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#6 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 311 reviews
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Staunton Conference Center
2.7 mi away
Sleep Inn
Sleep Inn
#5 of 16 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#2 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Historic Downtown Staunton, Virginia in the heart of the picturesque Shenandoah Valley, our 124-room hotel captures the spirit, history and charm of the old South. Originally built in 1924 and a member of Historic Hotels of America, the Stonewall Jackson Hotel underwent a complete renovation in 2005 and has been lovingly restored to its original grandeur with modern amenities that now includes over 8,500 square feet of conference center space, a fully equipped fitness center along with an indoor heated pool. Get ready to make your own history at our unique Virginia gem and join us at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel & Conference Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.