We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place and location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Richmond, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great place and location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The rooms were very clean, tastefully decorated and quiet. They also have an indoor swimming pool and whirlpool. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The only thing that is slightly confusing is where to park, but if you can find room to pull up in front of the hotel when you arrive, they will direct you to the parking garage which is attached to the hotel. There are many great restaurants in downtown Staunton - too many to try and the hotel restaurant is great too especially the buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

605 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    365
    195
    34
    7
    4
See reviews for
137
266
22
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Bluemont, VA
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel while on a Shakespeare weekend. The hotel is steps from the theatre, the room was in great condition, the bathroom was in very good shape, and the staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet was good and the staff attentive.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

I thought the hotel was OK. I do want to start by saying I was put in the original section of the hotel and maybe the new one is better, but the room I was in was tiny. Carpet was fairly clean but felt old, bathroom was average, and the food was alright nothing to go crazy about. I will say that the staff were great. The lobby is pretty cool and the surrounding area is awesome. Lots of restaurants and things to walk to, but I would recommend staying somewhere else and driving to the area.

Room Tip: Request the newer section. Maybe that side is better, but I have honest clue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family and I have been there once in the past and the visit was worth another go. We will actually be visiting the Hotel again in about two weeks. Nice to have an indoor pool over the winter months, central location allows for great location. Not to far from a home feel on the inside and the folks there are down to earth. Looking forward to they stay and hope it goes as well as in the past. nothing is perfect but they try the best that they can and were readily available to assist me at about 3am on my last arrival. They assisted my family very well the whole time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
70 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
196 helpful votes 196 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This was a favorite hotel in a favorite city. I'll give it another chance because of the ideal location, but the housekeeping standards must be raised. The room looked clean, but the dust on the window frames must have been months old. Less old (I hope) were the peanuts, pecans, and cracker bits we found on the carpet. I really hope they can do better.

On a different subject, the wonderful beds deserve better comforters. The one we had was very lumpy.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Perfect locAtion for visiting the American Shaakespere Center. Terrific staff, especially Ashley & Marshall in the bar. We have been there many times & its always well mqintained & sparkling clean.

Complaints in other reviews about parking garage are just silly. Its one elevator for the garage levels & one for the rooms. Luggage carts are available. If you dont see one just ask for heavens sake. Its a small hotel in a little southern town not the Ritz in NYC so no there are no bell hops or doormen. Also means there are no hands held out expecting tips.

Dont like the pillows but then I never like hotel pillows. I find the beds a bit hard but my husband loves them. Breakfast can be hit or miss depending on how many guests arrive at the same time
but its in a very pretty room with great view.

Small indoor pool/hot tub pleasant & always spic & span with plenty of towels.

Hotel is pet friendly & we have never had any issues with noise or cleanliness from said pets.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on higher floors for prettier views. Only specific rooms are pet friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria VA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Clean. Comfortable beds. Hard towels. Low water pressure. Very nice location and friendly lobby staff. You have to handle your own luggage. Unfriendly or should I say unhelpful dining staff. Worth it for the location.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center

Address: 24 S Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Staunton
#1 Business Hotel in Staunton
#2 Romantic Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the only full-service hotel in Staunton, our Historic Hotel underwent a total renovation in 2005. With rooms in our Historic Wing and rooms newly constructed, our hotel has something to offer everyone. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, TravelClick and Venere so you can book your Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stonewall Jackson Hotel Staunton
Hotel Stonewall Jackson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.