We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Depot Grill

The Depot Grill
42 Middlebrook Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 885-7332
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 105 Restaurants in Staunton
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Great Mills, Maryland, United States
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

It was very busy, so we had to wait about 20 minutes. The food was excellent! I had a half rack of ribs, my wife had chicken marsala. $15-$30 was the price range for entrees. It wou;d've been nice to look at the pictures, but it was too busy.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    93
    70
    18
    10
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Haven, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delicious food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Interesting location. Some of the seats look like old benches from the old train station. service was good. FUN.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishersville, Virginia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Favorite hometown restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Staunton, Virginia is a small town with some of the best locally owned restaurants around! I guess it's a matter of what you favor at the time, the price and of course the customer service. Our grandson, Taylor turned 18 yesterday and his choise for his special day was the DePot Grill. His favorite is the bison burger. My daughter, Amy and I have a daughter/mother day and we go to the DePot for the wedge salad. My son, Patrick likes the yummy mushrooms. My husband, Wayne.........well he likes everything. It's a family favorite for the service, great food, the history of the train station and you can always be sure you will see friends there. I highly recommend the DePot Grill.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Liked the ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Eating in the (actual) train depot in Staunton seemed kind of special. The food was very good, excellent menu, service was good. Nice location.

Visited October 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Best full service restaurant in Staunton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I have eaten at The Depot Grill more than a dozen times this year and have never been disappointed. Food is flavorful, served hot and the servers are attentive and helpful. Prices are $15 - 25 range for the most part. Good selection of food; chicken tenders to prime rib. Soups are really yummy and they usually have at least 2 selections. Don't usually have room for dessert but I think they'd probably be as good as the main course. The cobblestones in front of the entrance may be a little difficult for someone needing assistance but should not be a deterrent.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Depot Grill also viewed

 

Been to The Depot Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Depot Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.