We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best that Staunton has to offer.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mill Street Grill

Mill Street Grill
1 Mill St, Staunton, VA 24401-4305
540-886-0656
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 103 restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $0 - $22
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best that Staunton has to offer.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My consistent favorite. The food is always good, they have a pretty wide selection of the favorites and some unique fare also. I love the flavored butter for the bread with the flavors changing all the time. The ribs are my favorite but I have like everything I have eaten. If wine is your thing they have an extensive wine list. It is not the cheapest place in town but you get what you pay for. The atmosphere is nice, it is an converted flour mill, but suitable for date night or dinner with the family. I am a stickler for service and it has always been good.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

410 reviews from our community

88% Recommend
    253
    110
    39
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Top Contributor
237 reviews 237 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“Lovely historic building, attentive staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

There are many selections on the menu, and a good list of wine and beer choices, too. This was certainly good food--not necessarily creative or outstanding--but consistent. I might recommend more standard fare like burgers or steaks, which they do very well.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, Virginia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great burger and entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great burger and entertainment. Looking forward to returning. A great place to walk to from the Stomewall

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bluefield, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Consistently excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have been dining here for years and it is consistently high quality with delicious offerings by the chef! A bit of a wait, but well worth it!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, VA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very original menu in the downtown area.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

The menu selection was great. It's a busy place to eat on Saturday night (get there early). The price is a bit high in my estimation. Overall the food was good.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mill Street Grill also viewed

 

Been to Mill Street Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mill Street Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.