We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good home cooking and plenty of it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery

Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery
74 Rowe Rd., Exit 222 off I-81, Staunton, VA
540-886-1833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 106 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: American, Bakery
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Dessert
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good home cooking and plenty of it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Rowe's makes Staunton famous. Good Southern cooking. They also have carryout and a bakery with yummy cookies and pies. Large rooms suitable for meetings. Friendly service.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    111
    70
    21
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a wide following”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

although this is not my style of eating, it is a very popular restaurant. People traveling north and south on Interstate 81 make special efforts to stop here to eat. Many locals are also quite fond of this eating place It is a family style restaurant with down home cooking.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“A step above interstate food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

When travelling, I make a serious attemp to avoid the chiain restaurants and quick food places that serve the interstate. Although consistant, they are consistantly bla.

We discovered Mr.s Rowes some years ago and frequent the restaurant when we can. Althougth I can not compare it to Mom's cooking, it is a refreshing treat for normal fair.

This trip was no exception. Bad weather and long days forced put me into the restaurant at 7:50 at night whn the close at 8:00. No problem. The hostess was friendly and understanding and although late, I never felt rushed or unwanted. The food was tasty, served at the proper temperature and fairly priced. We will be back again.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brevard, NC
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Pretty unforgettable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Busy parking lot and too popular to advertise but we fail to see why. Bland, rather ordinary food prepared without inspiration. We shall not return. Oh - the spoonbread was pretty good, however.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Don't know what all the fuss is about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Maybe it was oversold to me, but I never have figured out what all the excitement is about. It is average food with average service. The prices are ambitious for what you get in my opinion. I don't have anything bad to say but I don't have much all that good to say either. If there is an upside it would have to be the pies. They do know their way around a pie. Eat elsewhere and go to Rowe's for the pie.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery also viewed

 

Been to Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mrs. Rowe's Restaurant and Bakery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.