We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge portions, great tourist shop.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cracker Barrel

Cracker Barrel
128 Rowe Road, Staunton, VA 24401
540-885-7550
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 108 Restaurants in Staunton
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch
Napa, California
Level Contributor
123 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Huge portions, great tourist shop.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

If you're from the west, where we don't have Cracker Barrels, you have to visit. Their biscuits are wonderful, as are most of their food items. The gift shop is a fun way to stretch your legs after a long car ride. It's also a local favorite.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    29
    16
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
East Coast, USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Rip Off”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Man, what a rip off this restaurant chain is. Not being very hungry, my husband and I both ordered two scrambled eggs, toast and hash browns. While checking the bill, I was sure a mistake had been made and asked the cashier about it. Nope, it was right....for one person who ordered two scrambled eggs, toast .....$5.69......that's right. According to my calculations, that's two dozen eggs (each dozen at $2 each) and one very expensive loaf of bread. Oh, I forgot the hash browns were 99 cents extra. The manager agreed it was expensive when ordering al - carte, but that's tough.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thompson, Manitoba
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good roadside food in a clean restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Good food. Restaurant was clean and the staff was friendly. Same menu as all other cracker barrels but it was super friendly and I love the store attached.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raphine, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Very Good Cracker Barrel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Food and service is good as at most Cracker Barrel locations. The buttermilk breaded shrimp, pot roast, and sourdough bread (an option instead of cornbread or muffins) are recommended. Service is generally good at this location

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A vacation tradition!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

We always do at least stop to the Cracker Barrel during our visit. Good food, pleasant waiters, and a fun place to shop.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cracker Barrel also viewed

 

Been to Cracker Barrel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cracker Barrel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.