We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderfully entertaining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Shakespeare Center

American Shakespeare Center
10 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
877-682-4236
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Attractions in Staunton
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blackfriars Playhouse is the world's only re-creation of Shakespeare's indoor theatre. "Stunning", says Frommer's. Located in historic downtown Staunton, VA, this 300-seat Renaissance theatre offers productions of Shakespeare and classic plays year round that the Washington Post says are "shamelessly entertaining" and the Boston Globe says are "phenomenal...bursting with energy”.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“wonderfully entertaining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What an amazing experience! Authentic, intimate atmosphere combined with off-beat, yet excellent performance. We loved watching Romeo & Juliet there, and because the playhouse in this cool, little town, we could walk everywhere we went.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    423
    33
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redlands, California
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
113 attraction reviews
Reviews in 139 cities Reviews in 139 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Great Entertainment for Decent Price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We saw the spoof play Return to the Forbidden Planet. I am not a Shakespeare fan and know little about him, so this stop was for my wife. However, I know enough to have enjoyed many of the spoofs that were part of the play and enjoyed the acting. Several of the actors were extremely good. The format encourages audience participation and you feel like you are part of what is going on, beginning before the show with pre-show entertainment. The cost is very reasonable. Some fun restaurants, coffee shops, ice cream parlors, etc. are around the corner to add to the experience either before or after the play. My wife has informed me we are going back!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
66 attraction reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Outstanding!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We loved both the back stage tour that we took and the two plays that we saw - one Shakespeare (Troillus and Cressida) and one by Goldsmith (She Stoops to Conquer). Cast was excellent. Seats were comfortable. We used to have season tickets to the Shakespeare Theatre in DC when we lived there and this was just as good. We will return.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Three plays in two days”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

"Return to the Forbidden Planet" is an outstanding spoof based loosely on The Tempest. In addition, it is a nostalgic jog through the 50's & 60's musically. You can feel the enjoyment the cast exudes during their presentation(5 stars).
We saw "Romeo & Juliet" with approximately 300 middle schoolers who were totally entranced by the cast's interpretation of the baird's script. A must see for schools that are exploring the innuendoes within the play.(5 stars)
She Stoops to Conquer is a comedy that has a twist that is based on a twist that is based on a twist. It would be a tragedy if it was twisted beyond the last twist. Realize you are going to get a lesson in the social whirlwind that was 18th century England. (4 stars)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A definite for your 'to do' list!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

ASC is an amazing place... the actors are top-notch, and every performance we've attended has been fabulous. Mostly Shakespeare plays, but they do put on other productions throughout the year as well (especially at Christmas... i.e. Dickens' 'A Christmas Carol' and Sedaris' 'The Santaland Diaries', as well as musical performances and such). They do an excellent job of making their productions extremely accessible for the audience, and there is a lot of audience interaction in each performance. The Blackfriar's Playhouse at ASC was built as an exact replica of Shakespeare's Globe Theater, and just as Shakespeare did, they 'do it with the lights on'. So no darkness during the shows... and it works. People come from far and wide to attend performances at ASC, and I highly recommend a visit to anyone! (There is an age minimum for most shows, so good to check on this if you are attending with children.) They offer 'pay what you will' preview and opening nights, where you can attend and donate as you like on your way out - versus paying for a ticket ahead of time. You do have to wait in line and aren't guaranteed a certain seat, but it's well worth it if you need a less expensive way to experience the shows. (Or you can of course support the center and put in large donations as well, of course!) ASC is a true gem, and has made Shakespeare fun for me. I love this place and attend performances as often as I'm able - and highly recommend it for everyone else, too!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed American Shakespeare Center also viewed

 

Been to American Shakespeare Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Shakespeare Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.