We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little gem tucked away in a sleepy mountain town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of American Shakespeare Center

American Shakespeare Center
10 South Market Street, Staunton, VA 24401
877-682-4236
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Blackfriars Playhouse is the world's only re-creation of Shakespeare's indoor theatre. "Stunning", says Frommer's. Located in historic downtown Staunton, VA, this 300-seat Renaissance theatre offers productions of Shakespeare and classic plays year round that the Washington Post says are "shamelessly entertaining" and the Boston Globe says are "phenomenal...bursting with energy”.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Clifton, Virginia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Little gem tucked away in a sleepy mountain town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We were lucky enough to catch the morning tour at the Blackfriars Playhouse. Our guide was a "player" - and as such was able to give us a tour which covered the history of the original Blackfriars, the inner and backstage workings of this recreation, and the philosophy behind such an endeavor. Well worth a visit for Shakespeare buffs and novices alike.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    35
    6
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bavington, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A spoonful of sugar makes the Shakespeare go down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is the third time we've made our "halfway" stop to the beach in Staunton - specifically to see whatever it is that is playing at the ASC.
You really should arrive a couple hours early and enjoy Downtown Staunton which is a charming town and the local businesses have obviously worked hard to preserve/rebuild one of the oldest towns in the Shenandoah Valley.
"Twelfth Night" this time and again were blown away and had a great time. The lighthearted and personal approach of the productions make Shakespeare less intimidating for all ages. Tickets are reasonably priced, the facility is beautiful and the fact you can have a beer and watch a play is a bonus....for us, anyway.We're a "theater" family but I think anyone with an open mind would enjoy an evening with the Blackfriars at the ASC.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Ivy, Ny
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Unexpected treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

I knew we were going to stop here on the way home from Tennessee even though it was Shakespeare, even though my teenager didn't want to, because I didn't see much else to do for the time frame we'd be in Staunton. Turns out we were there on a pay what you will night, which is what they do when a show is premiering. We got there early, stood on line for half hour or so and then were instructed to take seats that were not marked Reserved. There would have been no seat that you couldn't see, but as it turned out we got bumped up to row D due to sitting in seats that weren't marked reserved, but turned out to be. The show was A Lion in Winter and my 17 year old who didn't want to hear one more thing about Shakespeare after junior year English, agreed that it was terrific. There were people there who had just been there the night before for a different show, so it seems locals and tourists alike are regulars. I cannot speak for any other show they may put on, but if I was ever in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to go again, and to even pay the regular admission!(Oh-I don't suggest being "honored" by sitting in the Queens seats I think they called them-they are BEHIND and ABOVE the stage!)

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

Unbelievable performance of the Twelfth Night, a can't miss destination if you are anywhere near Staunton, or anywhere else this talented troupe performs.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great place to see a play”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

You are up close and personal with actors. We went the Scrooge play and it was great. The actors come out and interact with the audiance. Look for to going again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to American Shakespeare Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage American Shakespeare Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.