We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The name has been changed to Hometown Grill and Buffet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shoney's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Shoney's
30 Sanders Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 885-8101
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“The name has been changed to Hometown Grill and Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

but it was a basic Shoney's. Very large selection from the buffet and the food was good and hot. A really decent place to eat.....prices were very reasonable also.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2
    3
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Folkestone
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“good food and friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

It was late when we arrived, we were all starving so all decided to have the buffett which was chicken and steak. To be fair we thought the steak may be a bit dry as it was late, but we were very wrong, it was lovely and tender as was the chicken. Even though it was near closing they were still bringing out lots of fresh items and we all enjoyed what we had. Waitress was very polite and friendly.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone, North Carolina
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

We went in just before closing....but that really isn't an excuse. The food on the bar was cold....
The service was good though, she tried to make amends.
I ordered off of the menu and it was adequate but not really good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I ate at 3 in the afternoon, so the restaurant wasn't busy. I got seated and waited on promptly, and my burger and onion rings were very good. I hadn't eaten in a shoneys for probably 20 years since the area I live in doesn't have one. It seems like the menu hasn't really changed with the times much. I would've like to seen a bit more selection, but what was there was good. If you've never eaten at a shoneys its basically a burger joint. They do have a few other options, including veggie burgers, on the menu, but at its core it hasn't changed since the 1970s.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsley, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Tasty lunch buffet”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

If you want to eat some Southern food, go to Shoney's. The best is the lunch buffet with a good variety of salads, vegetables, entrees, and desserts. Their iced tea is excellent, and my first taste of breaded catfish made me a fan of it. Friendly service from Southern ladies made it a good experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shoney's also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shoney's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.