We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming find, great host” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Staunton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Olde Staunton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
Billings, Montana
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Charming find, great host”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were only in town for the night and the Inn worked out great. We were in the king room on the 3rd floor, which was a bit of a hassle for dragging bags up narrow stairs. The bed was fairly comfortable and I enjoyed the claw-foot tub in the bathroom. There was a bit of a musty smell to the room and it one point it began to smell like sauerkraut(maybe someone was cooking? I don't know). Overall, however, we had a great experience. The host is kind and helpful and was happy to make some suggestions for activities in Staunton. The breakfast was delicious with multiple options for all kinds of breakfast eaters.

Room Tip: King room is on the top level...lots of stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    13
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
28
4
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, VA, USA
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Pros - a little out of town, about a 5 minute walk, which was enjoyable to see the homes along the way. Nice big room, comfortable king bed. Wi-fi. Overhead fan. Wide chair for two w/ottoman. Great reading lamp near the chair (always one of my pet peeves if reading light is not good). Modern bathroom w/jacuzzi tub, lots of hat water, nice towels Great breakfasts different entree and homebaked goodies each day - scrambled eggs and sausage patties with homemade raisin bran muffins the first morning, turkey & broccoli quiche and banana bread the second and spinach & mushroom quiche and cranberry scones the third. Also frest fruit, applesauce, yogurt, juice and coffee.
Cons - No information about where bedrooms were located on website and we wanted a king bed so were on the third floor - two sets of long steps from the side walk to the front porch and then three sets to the bedroom (one very narrow). Hard to navigate - anyone with mobility problems will not be able to get to the front door. Musty downstairs in parlor and run down outside - porch needed painting. No individual room control for A/C. Tiny soaps and wrapped thin plastic glasses like the Holiday Inn. I usually look forward to the great toilet products when we stay in a B&B. Uneven shower pressure.

Room Tip: All rooms require climbing at least two sets of stairs as well as the two sets up to the porch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

The Olde Staunton Inn reflects the character of Staunton; charming, quiet and full of nice people. We arrived late in the afternoon and the host, David, had gone out to run an errand, but left us a welcome note on the door telling us where to find our room, keys and towels.

The room was great, with a very authentic décor. The brass bedstead was a particular highlight, though a little short for anyone above 6'2" (like my boyfriend, with whom I was staying). We shared a very clean and spacious bathroom with one other room.

Breakfast was very good, with all guests sharing a large table. Mango, strawberry, home-grown tomatoes, English muffins and home-made quiche (?!), all of which were delicious, made for a hearty breakfast before a long day of hiking in the Shenandoah Valley.

David was also very helpful when our hostel plans for the following night fell through. All in all, a very nice stay in charming surroundings.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is the second summer – mid-August – that I have spent at the charming and cozy Olde Staunton Inn in Staunton, Virginia. I am a frequent participant at the Staunton Music Festival, now in its seventeenth season and one of the most ambitious, imaginatively programmed, and best well-kept secrets vis-à-vis music festivals in this country, and the Olde Staunton Inn is right in the center of picturesque Staunton and all of the musical, theatrical and artistic events that it has to offer. David Bottenfield, the innkeeper, is a gracious and generous host who personally oversees all of the details of this well-appointed and comfortable guesthouse. Breakfasts are a communal affair, so you get a chance to engage in lively conversation with guests from around the world. David not only introduces everyone but he provides a feast that varies from morning to morning that includes local fresh eggs and fruits along with homemade quiche and muffins and breads and unending pots of coffee and tea and fresh fruit juices. David also recommends local trips to caverns and wineries and various other tourist attractions. Each room is unique, beautifully decorated, clean, and with a private bath. Simply put: it feels like you are sharing your home away from home with very good friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swadlincote, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Staunton is a great place to visit, full of history, things to see and fun just to walk round. There are plenty of places to eat and have a drink and all in a small friendly environment. The Olde Staunton Inn is really well placed for a stay as it is a very short walk to the main centre. It is also very easy to find and drive to. The house itself is full of character and charm. But for us the most important part of our stay was the welcome given by David. He was always ready to give helpful advice and offer ideas. We loved chatting to him and other guests during breakfast. And finally the breakfasts. There was so much choice of hot and cold dishes all superbly cooked. Easily the best we had during our stay in the USA. Hopefully we'll get a chance to return one day. Bryan & Polly

Room Tip: All rooms are good and don't be put off the ones that share a bathroom. Not a problem.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesborough, TN
Top Contributor
179 reviews 179 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We just stayed one night, and left before breakfast, but we enjoyed our stay at the Olde Staunton Inn. The owner is obviously very dedicated to his B & B. Our room was beautifully decorated and spotless. The owner was most helpful and I would have loved to sit and chat about Staunton's history with him. Unfortunately, we had to get up and out very early, so we passed on breakfast. I'm sure it was our loss.

One warning to those who aren't great at stairs and lugging their bags -- the rooms are upstairs, and like all beautiful, old homes, that means hauling bags. There's also very limited parking at the house, so you may be hauling bags up to the house and then upstairs. To be fair, there is plenty of on street parking and a big, free parking lot just down the way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Attractive and interesting, old weatherboard house. We stayed in the John Lewis room on the top floor, which was spacious, thoughtfully and tastefully furnished, with a large bathroom (shower only), very comfortable bed, plenty of storage and - at last for Virginia - an opening window (but as we were at attic level the windows are below waist height. David, the innkeeper, was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed breakfast, which included juice, fruit, yoghurts, cereals and muffins and were offered a quiche. All this was very much to our taste but those who are looking for a cooked breakfast might be disappointed. It is a very short stroll to the centre of Staunton, with plenty of choice of restaurants (we would recommend Aioli). You can park on the street or in a car park immediately next to the Inn, both free. Just some very minor quibbles. The air-conditioning for our floor was shared amongst three rooms and as the control is on the landing it helps if one's temperature preferences are the same as one's fellow guests! The top flight of stairs is a little narrow and steep and could be challenging for some.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (attic level) are accessed by a slightly steep and rather narrow staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Staunton Inn

Address: 260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Staunton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Olde Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.