We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Old House a Short Stroll from Town Centre” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Staunton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Olde Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Olde Staunton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely Old House a Short Stroll from Town Centre”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Attractive and interesting, old weatherboard house. We stayed in the John Lewis room on the top floor, which was spacious, thoughtfully and tastefully furnished, with a large bathroom (shower only), very comfortable bed, plenty of storage and - at last for Virginia - an opening window (but as we were at attic level the windows are below waist height. David, the innkeeper, was friendly and helpful and we enjoyed breakfast, which included juice, fruit, yoghurts, cereals and muffins and were offered a quiche. All this was very much to our taste but those who are looking for a cooked breakfast might be disappointed. It is a very short stroll to the centre of Staunton, with plenty of choice of restaurants (we would recommend Aioli). You can park on the street or in a car park immediately next to the Inn, both free. Just some very minor quibbles. The air-conditioning for our floor was shared amongst three rooms and as the control is on the landing it helps if one's temperature preferences are the same as one's fellow guests! The top flight of stairs is a little narrow and steep and could be challenging for some.

Room Tip: Top floor rooms (attic level) are accessed by a slightly steep and rather narrow staircase.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    17
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
32
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, Virginia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Our old, favorite inn in Staunton converted to a restaurant, so we recently stayed here for a weekend and found this inn to be very nice. Very clean. Our room was well appointed and quiet. Decor was a bit of a mix; given how beautiful the old house is, it would be nice to decorate in period-appropriate way. Innkeeper was friendly & helpful. It's not in the most beautiful spot, but has nice grounds and is in easy walking distance to all downtown attractions.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have a very brief yet pleasant stay at the Olde Staunton Inn this holiday weekend. The house is very nice and the room we stayed in (William Beverly) very comfortable and cozy. The owner was very hospitable and helpful. I am vegan so breakfast was pretty simple for me (this is always to be expected) but my husband enjoyed his eggs, sausage and fresh made baked goods.

One nice touch in the Inn was that the hallway had a bottled water dispenser, I like to fill my water bottle often that was a nice extra. I will say, they only offer small bars of soap so be sure to pack all your own toiletries...most of us do this anyway but I had forgotten my shampoo and had to make a special request from the owner.

It was a quick walk from the Inn to the "downtown" area of Staunton. Despite the lovely stay at the Inn we were very unimpressed with the town. We were there for the Memorial Day holiday but there were very few shops open on Monday and little to do. And honestly even if all the shops had been open, there were not many places to shop with the exception of a few antique stores and the glass blowing studio. There were only a few restaurants, it appeared several of them had recently closed. But we did have a nice dinner at the Byer Street Bistro, a cold beer at the Baja Bean Company, and tasty lunch the Depot Grille.

All in all it was a fine getaway, I was just really disappointed with the town itself. I think if you are into history there are a few museums that would be of interest, we are just not much in the way of history buffs and were looking for a quaint downtown to shop and peruse and unfortunately that was not what we encountered.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

David is a thoughtful and accommodating host who strikes the right balance between hospitality and independence for his guests. Others have commented on the comfort, amenities, fine breakfast, and cleanliness of this beautifully restored house. Additionally, quiet enables a good night's rest. There is a great library for the perusal of books on travel, history, architecture and more which invite relaxation during those "in between" moments. Thanks David, we'll be seeing you before long.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We arrived quite late at night and the innkeeper David wasn't around, so we rang the phone number on the door and asked him if there was any vacancy. David was very accommodating and although he wasn't at the B and B, he told us to let ourselves in and make ourselves comfy in our assigned room on the third floor. The room was beautiful and huge and we were provided with lots of information on Staunton and what there was to do in the town. Once we cleaned up we went downstairs and David had arrived home and was more than happy to provide us with restuarant tips for the night!
After a great nights rest in the most comfortable bed, the next morning we were provided a delicious breakfast by David in his gorgeous sunroom. He was also very interested to hear about our trip and gave us so many tips and reccomendatons for our future travels. We would defintely reccommend a stay at the Olde Staunton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed the weekend and had a lovely time. The owner is so kind and amenable, the room had everything necessary to make my stay easy (even a user-friendly, bedside Alarm Clock!), free wifi, easy parking and sumptuous, scrumptious breakfasts. No way I could eat everything offered, but I couldn't resist the homemade breads and muffins, and the fresh fruits were perfect (always lots of choices!). The ca. 1910 home has gorgeous woodwork and stained glass, and I loved sitting on the front porch in the morning and visiting the quiet library late at night. Just a fun stay in every way, and I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in early April 2013. Our accommodations could not have been more perfect for us. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king room with bathroom. All was very comfortable, clean and quiet. My husband enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning, while I slept in. The owner of the big stately home made everything easy for us. City amenities are about 3+ blocks walking distance; restaurants, antique shops etc. The inn rises about 2 flights of stairs above street level, but the climb is well worth it.

Room Tip: We peeked at the less expensive rooms. They are quite small, but so charmingly appointed that we may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Staunton Inn

Address: 260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Staunton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your Olde Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.