We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Staunton Inn

Save Saved
You added Olde Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Olde Staunton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
Hillsboro, VA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Stayed the weekend and had a lovely time. The owner is so kind and amenable, the room had everything necessary to make my stay easy (even a user-friendly, bedside Alarm Clock!), free wifi, easy parking and sumptuous, scrumptious breakfasts. No way I could eat everything offered, but I couldn't resist the homemade breads and muffins, and the fresh fruits were perfect (always lots of choices!). The ca. 1910 home has gorgeous woodwork and stained glass, and I loved sitting on the front porch in the morning and visiting the quiet library late at night. Just a fun stay in every way, and I'll be back!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed in early April 2013. Our accommodations could not have been more perfect for us. We stayed on the 3rd floor in a king room with bathroom. All was very comfortable, clean and quiet. My husband enjoyed a lovely breakfast each morning, while I slept in. The owner of the big stately home made everything easy for us. City amenities are about 3+ blocks walking distance; restaurants, antique shops etc. The inn rises about 2 flights of stairs above street level, but the climb is well worth it.

Room Tip: We peeked at the less expensive rooms. They are quite small, but so charmingly appointed that we may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed in one of the 3rd floor rooms--our friends were in the other one--for three nights in early March, 2013. The rooms were spacious, comfortable, and quiet. When we returned in the evenings, we enjoyed sitting and chatting with our friends in the library. Breakfast could not have been better. (Ask about the unique dining table.) David took my gluten-free diet in stride. David is an attentive, easy-going host. We have stayed at a higher-priced B&B in Staunton, but will definitely return to the Olde Staunton Inn if we have the opportunity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Va Beach, Va.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We just returned from a lovely, relaxing weekend at the Olde Staunton Inn. This was our first time staying at a Bed and Breakfast, and it definitely won't be our last. We felt like we were living in the lap of luxury during our stay because of all of the accommodations in the William Beverley room, including the King-sized bed, jacuzzi bathtub, and fireplace. David, the innkeeper, was very hospitable and is also a wonderful cook. We thoroughly enjoyed the muffins, ham and broccoli quiche, and chipped beef that he made. David was also very knowledgeable about the quaint town of Staunton and gave suggestions of places to eat based on what we said we were interested in. Some of our new favorite restaurants became Byers Street Bistro, Mill Street Cafe, and the Split Banana Company.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed at the Olde Staunton Inn on our last stop in Virginia. Parking was available on the side of the road as well as in a parking lot only a few steps away from the inn. The owner was very friendly! The room was absolutely great: king size bed and an en-suite bathroom with a tub. Breakfast was very tasty. Great location - very close to the historic downtown!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaumont, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have done B & B's across the USA and Europe. This is a good one! priced right- healthy breakfast - great ambiance- owner/operator is no novice and knows his business- top floor is best place to stay but negotiating the stairs might be difficult for anyone with physical disability--
It will be on our AA+ places to stay -- walking disrtance to historic district & evening restaurants--

Room Tip: I am a safety freak-- this old house is updated with sprinkler systems and alarms- no hazards around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

--
The hundred year old house has been renovated well by David, the host & owner, and is fun to use. His breakfasts are tasty, his advice timely, his helpfulness appreciated. Each room has its own charm, is well appointed (although shared baths), and very quiet. The only negative is the parking is limited to the street for the most part. The city has a lot of well renovated businesses that make walks around the downtown fun.

Room Tip: There are a number of steps to climb which can be difficult if you are not very mobile.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David B, Owner at Olde Staunton Inn, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Just a point of clarification: the Olde Staunton Inn offers five (5) guest rooms. Three of those rooms have king beds and private baths. The other two rooms have a queen bed and a standard (full) bed respectively. Only those two rooms share an adjacent bath. The two rooms which share a bath are perfect for extended groups of family members or friends or those persons desiring lower cost B & B accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Staunton Inn

Address: 260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Staunton Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo and Venere so you can book your Olde Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.