We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olde Staunton Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Olde Staunton Inn to your Saves list
Olde Staunton Inn
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We stayed here as an alternative to the overpriced options in Lexington for the W&L graduation events and were not disappointed. The host is friendly and accommodating and, having lived in the area for some time, can offer great input on area attractions and sights. The house itself has a great feel to it, is in a quiet area, and is a perfect complement for a trip to historic Staunton. The room was clean and well maintained and breakfast was delicious. One thing to note in the Clem Family Room is that the king bed is actually two twins held together with a joiner. Unknown whether or not other rooms are similar, but if this is a big deal for you (it wasn't for us), it's worth asking to know what you'll be getting. Overall a great place to stay. We'll definitely check here first if we lodge in Staunton again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    18
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
35
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights for a break after driving the Blue Ridge Parkway and our host, Dave, provided the perfect setting for a quiet day. There is space to relax outside on the large, private porch, the library and the sitting room. The breakfasts were excellent and Dave was the charming and attentive host throughout our stay. He was also very happy to tell us about local sight-seeing opportunities (we chose a self-guided walking tour and a visit to the Woodrow Wilson home) and local restaurants. Excellent

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Stayed recently overnight while passing through. The Olde Staunton sits on a side street, most bedrooms are upstairs in a converted attic, up three flights of stairs. For me this was not a problem.

Pleasant owner, excellent breakfast, nice and well-maintained rooms. My stay was flawless.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We had an amazing weekend stay at Olde Staunton Inn and would go back anytime!! Dave was the most welcoming Innkeeper ever and he was so helpful with recommendations for restaurants, and just helped in any way he could to make our stay the best! His breakfasts were perfect! Fresh fruit and the most amazing muffins ever were the staples and then he had several options for those who wanted a bigger breakfast. Our room was huge with a great bathroom and a gorgeous view! Wireless throughout the Inn was great and I sat on the lovely front porch and just watched the world go by surrounded by the most beautiful trees and flowers in full bloom!

Room Tip: Our room was on the third floor and we loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Bragg
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Lovely Inn, lovely town - great host, great room, wonderful breakfast ..... we were within walking distance to EVERYTHING in town, and the host was very knowledgeable ......
wouldn't hesitates to recommend the Olde Staunton Inn! It was wonderful, felt secure, safe, and accomodations were lovely.
Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: call ahead and chat with the host - he will help you with your room selection, and also with local a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

I recently spent 4 nights in the lovely B&B. I was in town for my reunion at Mary Baldwin College. Many of my classmates stayed at the Stonewall Jackson Hotel. When I met one of them at the hotel, it was big and cold compared to this cozy B&B that was in a good location for getting around town as well as to the college.

David is a wonderful host. I found him both helpful and accommodating. Over the 5 days, I watched him handle the changing nature of his environment with grace and ease. He was always available to offer a helpful hand. I did wake up every morning to wonderful smells coming from the kitchen below.

The only reason that I rated this B&B a 4 rather than a 5 is due to the amount of steps that I needed to climb. I am recovering from knee surgery. But I realize that this is part of being in an historical house so my 4 rating is really a 4+. I will definitely stay in this B&B when returning to Staunton.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

What a great B&B, not to mention town. Stayed in the William Beverly room... Jacuzzi tub in this room is worth the extra $$.

Breakfast was fabulous, owner is welcoming and friendly, but also respects guests privacy and solitude. Delicious fresh cooked scones, muffins and quiche... I wish we could wake up to that smell every morning ;0)

Very minor drawback: strip mall across the street is less than attractive, this said, the gorgeous and lush grounds make you feel as if you've enterd an oasis and the strip mall is forgotten as you're transported back to Victorian times when you walk through the front door.

This was a great get away thanks to David and his lovely B&B!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Olde Staunton Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olde Staunton Inn

Address: 260 North Lewis Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Olde Staunton Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Olde Staunton Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olde Staunton Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.