We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Howard Johnson Express Staunton

Save Saved
You added Howard Johnson Express Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Howard Johnson Express Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   268 North Central Avenue, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free High Speed Internet
Ranked #10 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Richmond
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Well worth a stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Clean, convenient and pleasant personnel make this spot a good destination in Staunton, VA if you want to take in a Blackfriar's Play, or just stroll around town and shop and eat in some of the interesting restaurants. Close to all, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Howard Johnson

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    53
    120
    81
    31
    14
See reviews for
99
91
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

The town of Staunton turned out to be one of those gems you stumble upon when traveling. Going through the area and just picked it sort of ramdomly. Got a good price for the night at this hotel. Turned out the hotel is located downtown within walking distance to histroic areas shops and resturants. Room was nice, quit and there is a small continental breakfast.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Top Contributor
163 reviews 163 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We visit Staunton, VA frequently and tired of paying the prices at the other downtown hotel and B&B's, so we tried the equally convenient HJ. For far less than $100 a night, this is an amazing deal, which includes free parking in the adjacent lot and light continental breakfast. The rooms are spacious and have refrigerators and microwaves. There is, however, no fitness room, and the outdoor pool is tiny. We found several articles of clothing left from a previous occupant, and the cleaning was spotty. If you are concerned about footprints and aging bathtubs, you will not be pleased here. The front desk staff was friendly and helpful. We found that on balance, including the great view of downtown, and the excellent location, it was worth compromising what we would not accept if we were paying more.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third or fourth floor facing the downtown (the odd-numbered rooms).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grove City, Ohio
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Filthy is the best word to describe the room we had. Among the numerous issues the most notable were the dead bugs, mold, faulty electrical outlet, generally a dirty unhealthy atmosphere. We stayed in the handicap accessible room on the ground floor. This was the only room in the entire town available on the night we were there due to parents weekend at a local college.We stayed on October 4 2013 and the next morning notified the manager who came to the room to look at the issues we found. He said his name was Bob (after contacting corporate we found out this was not his name). He stepped inside approximately 5 feet and didn't directly look at any of the issues, he just stated over and over, "I will have this cleaned ASAP". I took three (3) videos of inside and outside the room and have offered to forward them to the corporate supervisor (awaiting a return call). There is a review on this very site from October 8, 2013 reviewing the same room (although not in as much detail as I have) and clearly the issues were not addressed. I have contacted the corporate (Wyndham Hotels) as well as the Virginia Health Department so this hotel will be inspected and hopefully hold the manager(s) accountable and demand cleanliness.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Howard Johnson Express Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Howard Johnson Express Staunton

Address: 268 North Central Avenue, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Howard Johnson Express Staunton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Otel so you can book your Howard Johnson Express Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Howard Johnson Express Staunton Hotel Staunton
Howard Johnson Staunton
Staunton Howard Johnson

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Howard Johnson Express Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.