We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passable for a quick, inexpensive stay with a dog” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Red Roof Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Red Roof Inn Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Indoor Pool Is Now Open!
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Ithaca, New York
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Passable for a quick, inexpensive stay with a dog”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This location was conveniently located and easy to find. There was a Shoney's Restaurant next door, but we found an excellent Texas Steakhouse nearby. The room was typical, but updated with wood-like flooring. The beds were o.k., but the blankets were extremely thin. We weren't able to get extra bedding because the desk clerk was alone. The biggest challenge was getting the heater to regulate. I got up numerous times to turn it down and then up. I would likely stay here again, but ask ahead of time for extra pillows and blankets.

Room Tip: A corner room is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

251 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    84
    34
    7
    13
See reviews for
70
68
32
36
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Was exhausted from driving and needed a room...this is one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Even my dog was completely comfortable. There was laminate floors and the bathrooms had recently been updated. Comfortable and affordable. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

No one there yet we got a room with water damage ceiling. The room was clean beyond that. . We were interested in sleep and that is what we got. Very limited tv service. Free breakfast not worth going to. Broken down pool. Very friendly check in staff. Price reflects what you get.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
march 13
Dear Guest, I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We take great pride in quality and service we provide at this location as experienced by many of our customers. I apologize your past stay did not met your expectations. As of today we have resolved the problem. Our pool has been close for more than 5 years, I am sorry that we don’t have more TV channel. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FAYETTEVILLE
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

I'm a truck driver working with a limited budget. Upon arrival I was greeted by Roy at the desk who worked hard to find a pricing scenerio that was affordable. Upon departure at 0500 Roy showed up "from somewhere" as I was putting my key in the night window. He fixed coffee and gave me a couple of muffins to send me on my way. The room was clean with all the amenities needed for a GREAT night's stay. I departed as a "happy camper".

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staten Island, NY
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Reserved this hotel for a one night stopover from NYC to New Orleans. Right off the highway, easy check-in, great price (they offer a 10% senior discount for 55+) and clean room with very comfortable beds and pillows. Bathroom even had granite tiles in shower and good water pressure.

Free breakfast nothing to write home about, but at least there was a microwave to heat up the lukewarm coffee and water for tea and instant oatmeal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Thin walls, and thin blankets. TV is without PBS, MSNBC, or the Comedy Channel. They accept pets (one per room), but require that pets not be left alone in the room. The room is clean, but shabby and dark. The bed squeeks. I can't imagine staying there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 132
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomall
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Very nice, quiet and clean. The room was in very good order. The area is safe, and quiet, close to the highway, but far enough away as to not hear the traffic.

There are also stores, gasoline and restaurants nearby.

A very nice hotel in a very nice area.

Room Tip: All the rooms are really good, so it doesn't matter which one you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. New bathroom done in March 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.