We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Westtown NY
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed here on trip back from Florida, room very clean and comfortable. Easy access to I 81, pet friendly with no charge. No pet odors in room, our dog usually sniffs other dogs but quickly settled down. Price was great, There is a Shoneys next door and a Cracker Barrel down the road. We stayed at another Red Roof in Columbia SC and found it just as acceptable. We will seek out this chain in future travels.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
45
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

super convenient location right off the interstate. clean room. huge bathtub! super comfy bed. i wanted to steal the pillows!! service is top notch. nancy at the front desk is awesome! she made me feel at home, made me forget that i was 100 miles away on business. i highly recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

Found brown recluse spider in bed. Breakfast included hard donuts, stale waffles and stale bread. Shower curtain had mold on it. Blood stain on bed spread. Tried to take our issues to managment and they acted like they could not speak english.... Terrible

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback about our hotel. We take great pride in quality and service we provide at this location as experienced by many of our customers. I apologize your past stay did not met your expectations. We have our hotel regularly serviced by a reputable pest control company. We are an exterior hotel and in a scenic area of Staunton, VA. Occasionally nature is not 100% unavoidable. We apologize for any inconveniences you have experiences. We provide a fresh continental breakfast to our staff every morning. Regarding the quality of your room, it would have been our pleasure to have changed your room if it would have made your stay more enjoyable. All our front desk and management team speak English. Again, I am sorry you did not find your most recent stay acceptable. We do hope you give us another opportunity to serve you better in the near future.

Regards,
Ramila Desai
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurleyville, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I booked this hotel based on the customer reviews. My mom and I had a very pleasant stay. It's right off the interstate and easy to find, but in a quiet location. The staff are very pleasant and helpful. The rooms are clean, simple, comfortable,newly remodeled, and have all the basic amenities needed, including plenty of plug strip access on the desk. Basic continental breakfast in the hotel lobby and a very yummy, locally popular family restaurant and bakery, serving all three meals, just across the road. (Mrs. Rowe's). I will definitely book at this hotel again.

Room Tip: If you book on the ground floor, parking is right at your door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
florida
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We were just driving through Staunton and just needed a place to stay for the night. I looked at the reviews and found this was highly rated and the least expensive hotel. We booked it and found that the reviews were spot on. Just off the highway our hotel was easily located. The room was clean and comfortable. The linens, however, I found were a bit worn, but clean; the underbedding was loose and moved when turning over. I prefer crisp sheets and tight bedding. The morning's continental breakfast was just what we needed to quickly grab something and run. Breakfast consisted of coffee, juice, oatmeal, toast, donuts, cereal, milk and a nice, clean area to eat in. Overall, a nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PEARISBURG
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Nice hotel with newly-updated rooms. Good bed. Great value. Good location near restaurants at interstate exit. Free breakfast so-so and room lighting a little dim. Lady at reception in the evening very friendly and efficient. Two power strips for all your needs.

Room Tip: The hotel seems to be in the process of updating. Be sure to get a new room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The Red Roof in Staunton was not a planned stop on our way from PA to LA, but after a flat tire in Verona it is where we ended up. From the outside this MOTEL looks dated, but inside the rooms are spacious and cleaner than one would expect from a motel. Ours had a small refrigerator and microwave. The front desk clerk had a heavy foreign accent and was a little difficult to understand on the phone but even at two AM was very friendly and accommodating and even phoned the room a few minutes after we were in to make sure we were satisfied. I gave this motel a four because the beds have innerspring mattresses that could be more comfortable and there is a small gap between the curtain and door that affords a large view out to (and I would suppose in from) the parking lot. For an overnight stop or even a two night stay on a budget - this was a great find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. New bathroom done in March 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.