We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Diamond in the Rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Staunton

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Red Roof Inn Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Staunton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Diamond in the Rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The Red Roof in Staunton was not a planned stop on our way from PA to LA, but after a flat tire in Verona it is where we ended up. From the outside this MOTEL looks dated, but inside the rooms are spacious and cleaner than one would expect from a motel. Ours had a small refrigerator and microwave. The front desk clerk had a heavy foreign accent and was a little difficult to understand on the phone but even at two AM was very friendly and accommodating and even phoned the room a few minutes after we were in to make sure we were satisfied. I gave this motel a four because the beds have innerspring mattresses that could be more comfortable and there is a small gap between the curtain and door that affords a large view out to (and I would suppose in from) the parking lot. For an overnight stop or even a two night stay on a budget - this was a great find.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    59
    25
    5
    10
See reviews for
49
45
19
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Friendly owners and staff and nice clean comfortable room for a good price. Good location with easy on and off from highway . Chose it because it was close to a Cracker Barrel but it is also convenient to good selection of other restaurants.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We were staying here that night due to a power outage! The rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff was helpful and super friendly. This hotel has several good restuarants close by and several different kinds of shopping. It is located right of both interstate 64 and 81.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

The Red Roof Staunton offered good, clean rooms at an excellent price. A continental breakfast is included in the price.

The staff, and in practicular Jackie, at the front desk, were particularly helpful.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We have stayed at this motel many times over past 10 years. During that time it has chnaged brands 3 times to present Red Roof. We have always had good experiences. This last time was a pleasant surprize. The rooms have been/are being remodeled. Our room just had been remodeled with new beds, new flat screen TV, hair dryer, refridge, microwave, etc. No complaints. A/C effective abd quiet. Staff very customer oriented and friendly. Cannot speak of breakfast as went to Shoney's next door as wanted more of a traditional breakfast. Staff said indoor pool and room (closed for over ten years)has more damage than first thought but are working on it. All in all, cannot beat this for the upper $60 price, location (ez on/off I-81 ut motel rooms quiet) and staff. We'll be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

Over the years we literally stayed at hundreds of motels, most of them national chains, but until this year we never had a Red Roof Inn amongst them. Therefore their Staunton location was something of a change for us from our Best-Days-Comfort-Sleep-7-routine, and a very pleasant one!

The location is equally good for visiting Staunton’s old town (highly recommended!) as for starting your trip down the Blue Ridge Parkway or up the Skyline Drive. The buildings and rooms are very well maintained, clean, spacious and cozily furnished, the personnel we came across was throughout friendly and helpful, the continental breakfast included in the rate of only $60 was above average in selection and quality.

Therefore: Hats off to the Red Roof Inn of Staunton!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

A fair value for the price. Friendly staff and decent continental breakfast met with expectations. Clean and comfortable, if somewhat spartan, furnishings.

We found outlets in the room frustratingly located and at a premium, especially problematic for travelers with a c-pap machine, but this is not at all a deal breaker - just bring an extension cord and power strip when you travel like we do, rather than give up the good value of this hotel. The wifi was also inconsistent, but these are minor issues, and for the price, a quiet night's sleep is all we were looking for, and it's what we got.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redroof706, Director of Sales at Red Roof Inn Staunton, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Dear,Thanks for staying with us and for writing a review online for others to read. I am so happy to hear that you find us to be clean. Thanks for the kind words about friendly staff.We are installing power strip in all room this week. I hope we have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.Thanks again to bring my attention about power strip.


Regards,
Ramila Desai
Sales Manager
i0706@redroof.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Staunton

Address: 42 Sangers Lane, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Staunton 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the charming Shenandoah Valley of Virginia, Red Roof Staunton is near five National Historic Districts, all brimming with historic architecture. We offer free WiFi throughout, continental breakfast, and much more. We welcome 1 pet no charge. New bathroom done in March 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Hotels.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.