We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed with the room” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Quality Inn & Suites

Save Saved
You added Quality Inn & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Frontier Drive, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Microtel Inn by Wyndham Staunton)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
1 review
“Very disappointed with the room”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

The room was only surface cleaned. The edges and corners had visible dust. The linens were clean and the bed was comfortable but the bathroom was shabby. Group stained and cracked. Amenities were non-existent - I didn't expect much but was almost blinded by the absolutely obnoxious flourescent lighting and didn't even want to shower there.
The TV was small on top of the cheesiest "closet" ever! I will definitely NEVER stay there again and we do this trip often. On a positive note, the staff was very friendly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    152
    76
    25
    12
See reviews for
159
111
37
28
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

We were getting an early start on our trip to Nashville and decided to drive as far as we could before we got too tired to drive. Our adventure brought us to Staunton, Virginia, a beautiful quaint little town near the Blue Ridge Park Way. I highly recommend a stay in Staunton, or Stan-tin as the locals call it. I stayed here for a few days a couple of years ago with some friends on a mountain bike trip and had a great time.
This hotel wasn't very great, but, it was 62$, so really what do you expect? The lobby smells and looks clean is tiny and dated. There is a laser etched picture of a bald eagle above the check-in counter. We checked in at four am, the front desk person was very courteous, kind, and helpful, on the phone and when we arrived even at four am. No small feet for anyone at that hour. We appreciated her help. The room was very dated with paint chipping off the walls,especially in the bathroom. The bedding was clean,beds were uncomfortable. The girlfriend made me pick up a dead stink bug up by the bed before she would get in. To be fair stink bugs were introduced here a few years ago by a misguided farmer and the area has been overrun with them since. I was woken up twice in the morning, each time our neighbors got up, because of thin walls. The bathroom had been cleaned but looked questionable because of chipped paint and dingy yellow plastic tissue holder. They installed one of those oval extended shower curtain rods that had come partly out of the wall so the curtain wouldn't stay closed all the way on either side, despite magnets on the bottom of the curtain. I spent the whole shower freezing and trying to keep them closed to no avail. Water went all over the floors and walls thus the paint chipping. There is a small dining area up front. i assume they serve a breakfast. At the entrance to this area there is a standing sign posted telling guests not to take food to their room. I found this odd because there is a small refrigerator and microwave in the room. The nice view of the town below deserves a mention. So, this was a perfectly not awful but not very good place to stay. You can't beat the price. I would not recommend this place to a friend or family member. It's a two star hotel, not the five that trip advisors guests have claimed. Although we didn't use guests services, the staff members were very kind and helpful. Even the cleaning lady helped me get the attention of the front desk attendant when I waited a couple of minutes to check out.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Microtel Staunton is a great value, the staff is not super friendly, but I'm not there to spend time speaking to them. You have a great view from the front side of the motel. I have now stayed at this property twice. If you are coming by this one at the end of a day, you will have a comfortable stay, even though the rooms are not as big as many motel rooms.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Argyle
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stayed here for one night on our way between GA and NY. The motel is very clean, well maintained, and comfortable. The staff was great. We had a problem with our rewards points and the gentleman at the desk when we arrived was most helpful in telling us how to resolve the issue. Breakfast was standard and not fancy, but more than adequate for our needs. We will likely stay here again on our travels!
As others have noted, it is a little tricky to find! Look for the Burger King because it is difficult to see the Microtel sign from the main road.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

My parent's stayed here after getting tired while traveling as a last minute thing. They were very gracious to us..our room was extremely clean..breakfast was good. We could ask for more. All of our needs were met. The view over the city, the next morning was breath taking! Thanx!! :)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 200 Frontier Drive, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Microtel Inn by Wyndham Staunton)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All new fully renovated smoke-free hotel. FREE full hot breakfast & self-made waffles, Local/Long Distance (USA/Canada), WiFi Internet. Fresh baked cookies in evening. Fitness room, Business Center. LCD TV w/HBO. Pets not allowed. Pool (seasonal). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Hotel Staunton
Microtel Staunton
Staunton Microtel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quality Inn & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.