We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful view of the mountains” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Staunton

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Staunton to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Motel 6 Staunton
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   96 Baker Lane, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Quality Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Silver Spring, PA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful view of the mountains”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Polite staff, great view of the mountains, close to the interstate. Not a top of the line room but not a bad room. relatively clean and comfortable. I did not have the problems that others seemed to have with this property. If I was passing through again and needed a room I would probably stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    12
    16
    11
    18
See reviews for
17
16
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Cookeville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

OK,,here we go. At checkin no printer paper, checked into a dirty room, changed to a clean dirty room, housekeeping staff could not understand me. Bathtubs have been painted, seriously, and it's peeling. One noisy refrigerator, a tv with lousy reception and the most dingy nasty looking towels and washcloths I have ever seen. Wear shoes in the shower, they are actually worse than the pictures. Run down property with no hope of being a real Quality Inn. At 10 pm the same people were "cleaning" rooms. I wasn't expecting much since this was the only room available anywhere, but this was a bit much. The room was $100 per night. The desk staff was pleasant and certainly none of it was their fault. I predict a loss of their Quality Inn franchise soon. Oh,,,at checkout no printer or paper! Nothing to show I was there. BTW the same people own the other 2 hotels at this exit. If Quality Inn allows there name to be attached to this property I suppose I'll have to pay more attention to their other properties prior to using

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The lady at the desk was very nice and explained that if you were paying in cash you had to have a $50 room deposit and a $10 phone deposit put on your credit card in case of theft. I was checked in and proceeded to my assigned room. Imagine my surprise when I opened the door to my room and found a naked man sitting on the bed! I returned to the desk, informed the clerk, and asked to have my payment returned. I will never ever stop at this motel again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

Good value for the price. A little work on the exterior would help. Friendly front desk. Shower could use an new look, but was clean and worked well. Hotel seems to be in the process of updating. Beds very comfy!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

Watch out for the resident skunks. There are 4 that roam around. Garbage in public area overflowing. Mold in bathroom. Coffee maker in room dirty. Walkways in disrepair. Ran out of orange juice and coffee for breakfast. Muffins hard as rocks. Ice machine area filthy. Will never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carnegie, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We ended up staying here when a storm passed through much of VA knocking out power to many places including the hotel where we had been planning to stay. With locals-without-power filling the surrounding hotels, our room here was probably one of the last available rooms on the I-81 corridor. Under the circumstances we were grateful to find a place to stay for the evening!

Good points: bed was comfortable; sink area outside bathroom allows for two people to wash up at the same time; coffeemaker and free Wifi available in room; pretty location in the middle of a field. Bad points: air conditioner was barely working (on a 90+ degree day); bath linens had been washed but were stained (grease? rust?); bath mat was shredded; light in the bathroom was a fluorescent that was about to burn out; overall look and feel was very dated; key-card reader in door only worked when it felt like it. Having a few bikers who were hanging out on the balcony outside our room give the key-card reader "The Look" helped. :-)

Staff here is friendly and there's a pool available, but the property needs work. I've never been comfortable with exterior-entry rooms to begin with... less so when railings are rusted and walkways are dirty. That said, when we arrived the lobby area was under construction, and the renovations that had been done so far looked nice, so the place has potential. Glad they were there for us in the storm and wishing for the best for the future.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg, Virginia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our electricity was out during a storm we could not find a place in Harrisonburg but found the quaily inn in Staunton. First of all we were not told about the air conditioning so we went to our room at 7:45pm turned the air conditioning on and found out the air conditioning was not working so we gave it a chance took a shower went to get something to eat returned at 10pm no air conditioning we left two hours later after trying to get comfortable checked out and some fat man working the desk was rude and trying to tell me they had a storm duh I asked him ok we knew there had been a storm but the motel had electric what does that have to do with the air conditioning. refused to give back our money because we sat on the beds and used two towels . PLEASE DO NOT STAY THERE Dead bugs all around the so call air conditioner

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Staunton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Staunton

Address: 96 Baker Lane, Staunton, VA 24401 (Formerly Quality Inn)
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Staunton 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Motel 6 Staunton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Hotel Staunton
Quality Inn Staunton
Staunton Quality Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Staunton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.