We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food in Staunton” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aioli

Aioli
29 North Augusta Street, Staunton, VA
+1 540-885-1414
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 106 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Chattanooga, Tennessee
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Delicious food in Staunton”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

Food was great, especially the asparagus brie bisque--yum!! Service was very cheerful but a little slow. But then, we weren't in a particular hurry--just hungry! It's location is handy to everything in cute little Staunton, and only a block from where we stayed. It was very busy with what seemed to be a local crowd--always a good sign.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    33
    14
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic tapas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014 via mobile

Our party of four dined here tonight, prior to seeing Comedy of Errors at Blackfriar's Playhouse. The only thing missing was a Lazy Susan for the table. We ordered 8 tapas to share, along with salads and soup. Excellent charcuterie platter with a surprising riff on pimento cheese: goat cheese with peppadews. We also feasted on caprese salad, bruschetta, chicken skewers with a spicy peanut sauce, the housemade bread, garlic shrimp, olives, and mushrooms. Nice bites, great to share, and an enjoyable way to taste many different items without feeling like you've had too much. Nice variety of wine, generous pour on the hard liquor, efficient, knowledgeable servers, and the perfect stop before the play.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Everything was nice but.........”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

We went there as we were told this was a great place. The wines were fairly well priced and the waitron was very attentive. The waitron described the specials while we wondered about what to order over tapas which were fantastic.
So we made our order...both specials for the night...flounder stuffed with crabmeat and lamb chops (2) with a special sausage.
The night was going very good and the waitron brought out our main courses. I looked at mine and thought there was a problem.....it actually was the surf and turf from their menu. When I realized this, I called the attention to the waitron who was very apologetic. I assured her that I did not touch anything and that it perhaps can be served to someone who may have ordered the same thing and they would not have to cook it again....The waitron took it back and I don't know what happened to it. I asked my partner to start eating and not worry about me concerning this obvious mistake.
About 10 minutes later, my plate came out and it tasted really good.
We then thought we would order dessert, got coffee, and then we were presented the check.
Having worked in food service, a mistake like a dish that was not correct usually gets a comp for such a horrible mistake, but that didn't happen. As a matter of fact, the mistake seemed like it was swept under the rug.
For a place like this to have such good food and good service, it missed a great chance to make up for something which is why I gave it 3 stars instead of 5.
I've seen people make a fuss over a mistake by a waitron and I didn't....after all, there was no harm done, but a longer wait for me while my partner ate her dish.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkley
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014 via mobile

We were following a recommendation from Frederick House Hotel for a light, fresh and wholesome meal before heading to the theatre. We told our waitress we were on a tight schedule and the service was so fast the meal was not rushed and we had ample time to find the theatre. The menu had plenty of choice and we were particularly impressed with the Caprese salad, prawns and risotto. The finishing touch was 5 days later when we had worked out we had left a pair of sunglasses there we rang and the staff were only too happy to forward them on without charge, excellent customer service!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you are eating alone”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

The folks here were very welcoming of a single diner. Bartender (I was invited to wait at the bar while my table was cleared) did not have time in the five minutes I sat there, to take my drink order. Then my table was ready. Nice tapas, portions a bit out of whack - I ordered the olive appetizer and it contained over twenty big olives - clearly more than a single diner would want. On the other hand the lamb sausage portion was breakfast sausage diameter. Delicious but too small. Baba ghanoush was perfect. Good drink by my elusive bartender and a great glass of Zin from a charming waitress with a million dollar smile. I will go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aioli also viewed

 

Been to Aioli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aioli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.