We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jamaica sings” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Untouch'd Grill - CLOSED

Untouch'd Grill
105 South Coalter Street, Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 492 4388
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Barbecue
Dining options: Delivery
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery
Staunton, Virginia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Jamaica sings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Real Jamaican jerk without a southern compromise. The real deal.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    7
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“just made me want pecks...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

I ordered a pulled pork sandwich and a couple of sides. I didn't like the sandwich is was smothered in a bbq sauce i was NOT fond of. I would be curious to see how well the pork was prepared before 3 gallons of bbq sauce was added. The sides were good but came in a container the size of a salad dressing cup. I LOVE pulled pork but I wasn't impressed and won't be back.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GROTTOES, VIRGINIA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“another fabulous meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

repeat visit to this quirky and fun restaurant. Once again the food was outstanding and the prices ridiculously low. Best jerk chicken anywhere and the pulled pork sandwich is both delicious and generous. My favorite is still the pulled chicken sandwich just the right amount of heat combined with big big flavor. This is a real treat don't miss it!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harleysville, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best BBQ I've had!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Just like the review says, this is the absolute best BBQ I've ever had! My daughter and I stopped here on the way to Gatlinburg and were not disappointed. I got the ribs meal with mac & cheese and red beans & rice. My daughter got the 1/4 chicken. It was more food than we could finish (and I can eat) and was terrific! The ribs were perfect. They were tender but still had a nice meaty texture. The flavor in the meat was excellent! They had plenty of sauce on them, but it was not needed because the meat itself had so much flavor. The chicken was the same. Tender, juicy and incredibly flavorful. The red beans were good but not great and the mac & cheese was incredible. Hard to believe mac & cheese could be so good! The hostess also gave us a complimentary cup of ox tail to try. I thought it was ok, but my daughter loved it and said if we came back that's what she would get. I almost forgot, the prices are great. All that food was under $25. There is no bathroom, which was the only drawback, but there's gas stations nearby. I will definitely stop here every time I pass through Staunton. Try it, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swannanoa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Not a fancy place, but authentic Caribbean cuisine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2012

My wife and I first visited this small restaurant in January 2012. It was so good that we made a point of returning during our second visit to Staunton one month later. On our first visit, the grilling aroma coming from the modest building announced to us that this was going to be good. It's real jerk for which there really is no substitute. No wonder; the chef is Jamacian. We enjoyed jerk chicken and lamb curry--both delicious. The prices are modest. Wish we lived closer.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Untouch'd Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Untouch'd Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.