We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food in a Neat Town” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byers Street Bistro

Byers Street Bistro
18 Byers Street, Staunton, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wintergreen, Virginia
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Good Food in a Neat Town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

Thanks to Trip Advisor, we visited this restaurant. The ambiance was very nice, downstairs where the bar is located, outside and upstairs in the main dining area. Service was very friendly and prompt. We started out with a good beer selection and the mussels appetizer was superb. Very fresh bread with oil was served promptly. The main courses of Fish Tacos, Scallops and Veal Marsala were very good. The food was very well presented and the servings were generous and well priced. The wine selection is limited, but good and fairly priced. We will return!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    87
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Connecticut
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“Excellent Food and Relaxed Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

We went here on the recommendation of a local and we were in no way disappointed. The service was friendly and the food was exceptionally good. It was a quiet time late for lunch and early for dinner so it was easy to find free parking and we were practically the only people in the restaurant. We will definitely add it to our list of restaurants in Staunton that we love. Just be aware that you may end up having to pay for parking if it is a busy time. It would be an easy walk from the Stonewall Jackson Hotel if you are staying there.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A nice way to spend our anniversary”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2014

Hostess was very sweet...even tho' there was a waiting list (always a sign you've picked a good restaurant) she seated us quickly since we had hungry kids!
The prime rib sandwich is yummy!
A nice way to celebrate!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daman24
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

Ali was an excellent server. It was our first visit with the new menu. Definitely worth the wait, chicken and waffles are to die for. They never disappoint here!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Good Choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

This was one of the recommended restaurants to try in Staunton while we were there for a weekend get-away. We tried to make a reservation during lunch time but it was extremely chaotic with people standing inside and out waiting for seating. The 2 staff people we asked did not even know if they took dinner reservations but the greeter took our name and said she would put us down for a 6:30 reservation. When we showed up, they did have a table ready for us which was very nice. We were seated upstairs and had a nice booth. I ordered the pan seared sea scallops which were awesome in taste but there were only four of them and they were not jumbo sea scallops like I anticipated, just regular size. For the price of the meal, there should have been at least a few more added to the dish. I ended up with a lot of the added vegetables and no scallops to pair with them. My husband got the special - a red trout dish which he thought was salmon when it was delivered. It looked and tasted like salmon but the assistant manager came over and explained the difference which was nice of him. My husband said it was delicious. It was a bit noisy but not overly so, we had a very attentive waitress and overall it was a good experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byers Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Byers Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byers Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.