We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner at the Bistro” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Byers Street Bistro

Byers Street Bistro
18 Byers Street, Staunton, VA
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 104 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $9 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Bartlett, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Dinner at the Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a great dinner. I had the special - Florentine Flounder and husband had lamb pasta. Both were great. The best though was the dessert...dark chocolate/coconut creme brulee! Yummy! Service was great - Nick was our waiter for a large party of 13 and was very attentive and personable. An unexpected surprise in Staunton.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    81
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Williamsburg, VA
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Despite high reviews by others, we found this place to be just average. Our shaved prime rib sandwiches were good enough but nothing special (except a little gratuitous gristle). The service was fine, provided by the bar tender for a late lunch. Ambiance was so-so, more like a bar than a bistro. Value was fine. Not worth a special trip to Staunton, but not a bad place for light lunch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport News, Virginia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Delicious dinner in Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

We had a delicious dinner. Our waiter Nick couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. Shrimp and Grits were about the best I have ever had. Huge shrimp. My wife's crab cakes were delicious (she said and I trust her). We will go back. Oh yeah. Reservations on line helped a lot!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Food is delicious - much better than at the expensive, upscale restaurant in Williamsburg where I ate yesterday.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Surprised! Great Food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We live in Staunton and had been at Byers Street for dinner quite a few years ago. We decided to try it again as they always seem busy. We were very surprised at the food and presentation. We both had the warm spinach salad for starters. It was a great size and full of flavor. My husband had the shrimp and grits and it was flavorful and had a lot of cheese. I had the special which was a pumpkin seed crusted pork chop over mashed sweet potatoes and grilled zucchini. It was a large chop and I didn't think I could eat it all but it was so good I did. We will be back as we each had a drink from the bar, salad and entree and we shared a desert and our bill was $65.00.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byers Street Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Byers Street Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byers Street Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.