We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Neat place with good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ubon Thai Victorian Restaurant

Ubon Thai Victorian Restaurant
515 West Frederick Street, Belle Grae Inn, Staunton, VA 24401
540-886-4141
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 108 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Neat place with good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

I ate here with my dad and my brother in Staunton, and we are all big fans of thai food. The food was great, but I was most excited about eating outside on the porch with the view of the lily garden and the the mountains. The couple that owns the place waited on us, and they were very sweet and welcoming. Also, they are very accommodating for vegetarians - I assured that there were no animal products used in my meal!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    12
    3
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A wonderful place to celebrate or hang out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

We're new to the area and just happened to see a little news item about the restaurant and owners in the local paper. So we went! And it was delightful. The food was delicious; the owners were engaging; the setting was beautiful. We had homemade chips & sauce, Thai dumplings (best we've ever had), the crispy fish, drunken noodles (with sides of her spicy homemade sauces) and Thai beer. It was a lot to eat -- but it was lovely leftover as well. They grow their herbs in their garden, which is lovely. And an additional bonus is that they're open continuously from lunch to dinner, so you don't have to squeeze your meal into a particular time slot. They made us feel like family, and I expect we'll spend a lot of time sitting on their front veranda, sipping a beer, sampling more of the menu, enjoying the garden and their company!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Elsinore, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“authentic and delicious but a little pricey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Eclectic decor, loving and unique staff and very delicious food is how I would describe this establishment. It was a pretty evening and we sat outside on the front porch. They have a great menu and good sized portions, but a little pricey. For instance, a regular sized bottle of Thai beer was $5. I would absolutely recommend Ubon Thai!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very Welcoming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Very good food. Very kind owners. Down to earth and comfortable. It's like mom cooking for you only she is Thai.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
2 reviews
“Fun and personal attention”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Great food, met the owners, got a tour of the B&B, which looked awesome and I would recommend to friends or family. I think the restaurant itself and decorations could be either be more modern or more authentic (or both), and might bring in more people. But, main thing was that the food was tasty and not something I'd had before. Can't wait to sit outside, there's a nice gazebo area in the back. Highly recommend.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ubon Thai Victorian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Ubon Thai Victorian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ubon Thai Victorian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.