We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Step back in time for a hearty breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Beverley

The Beverley
12 E Beverley St, Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 886-4317
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 103 restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $5 - $7
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Step back in time for a hearty breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Prices were reasonable and the food we had (breakfast) was very tasty and we thought was home-cooked. Service was a little slow but they were busy the day we were there.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

76% Recommend
    13
    18
    5
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Back in another era!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Great food and amazing prices, the Beverly reminds you of an earlier era. The pies are great, the service is excellent--step back in time!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Smalltown old-fashioned food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Beverley has no pretensions. It just offers food reminiscent of a 1950s diner in an even older setting. Breakfast was medium good at medium pricing, though my husband loved the scrapple. My biggest kick was seeing all the very old locals who appeared to be daily customers treated like family. The antithesis of the corporate dining experience. Will return for the pie next time because all flavors on display looked really beautiful.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IN
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Down Home Cookin' and Friendliness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Ate lunch at The Beverley, it was like going back into time; old and unique breakfast/lunch spot. The food was homemade good, the prices fair and waitresses EXTREMELY PLEASANT and 'down home'. We both ordered hamburgers and fried potatoes. Now THAT is what a hamburger should taste like! YUMMY! My husband also ordered a piece of coconut meringue pie, with the meringue piled sky-high. Staunton is a quaint town in the Shenandoah Valley; I felt like Andy or Barney would come walking thru the door any minute. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Nice place to visit, staff friendly, old world feel to the place with photos etc. food was very good.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Beverley also viewed

 

Been to The Beverley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Beverley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.