We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baja Bean Co.

Baja Bean Co.
9 W Beverley St, Staunton, VA 24401-4202
540-885-9988
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 108 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Californian, Vegetarian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Tasty food. Good draft beer. Good service and quick seating on a busy night. Very attentive host kept an eye out for us.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    46
    19
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Not Amazing, but great value.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We were not terribly hungry but wanted a beer and a bite so we ducked in here. Fun atmosphere and the service was speedy. We ordered a plate of nachos to share and were underimpressed. Chips were a bit limp and the refried beans were cold and tasted "old," but my friends said they enjoyed them. The plate was overloaded with jalapenos which we had to pick off. Two of us love spicy food, but when we had finished removing the peppers, there were more a cup of them. My friend ordered a spinach quesadilla which was much better than the nachos. Beer was cold and the price was right.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staunton, Virginia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“It's ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Not bad tex mex food - my husband ordered the ginormous burrito (don't remember the name) and it was indeed huge. Biggest issue, we saw the waiter fill the basket of chips with his bare hands. Made the whole experience a bit tainted.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio, USA
Top Contributor
373 reviews 373 reviews
165 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
678 helpful votes 678 helpful votes
“Excellent southwest food and an outstanding selection of craft beers.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I had one night in Staunton during a short road trip along the Blue Ridge Parkway and Shenandoah National Park. As it has been a cool and overcast day, I was looking for something with a little heat for dinner. After a quick search of the TA reviews and the local dining options listed in the hotel guide, I quickly zeroed in on Baja Bean Company. The clincher for me was that there were 14 craft beers on tap. There had to be a good pale ale or IPA in the mix.

I visited on a Saturday evening in early September, right about dinner time, so I was expecting a crowd, but surprisingly there was only a 15 minute wait, so not too bad. Once seated, the service was expedient and friendly. The menu was chocked full of great looking options, so I told my server was I had in mind (something with heat for dinner and a hoppy beer). The server recommended the Burro del Muerto, and that turned out to be genius suggestion. Great flavor with a good amount of heat; a perfect combination with the Uinta Hop Notch IPA. The bonus to this dish was the jalapeño bottle caps (deep-fried slices of jalapeno peppers…YUM!).

The setting was open and light, so very inviting. The downtown location provides the opportunity to look around the shops. There was also public parking lot just a couple blocks away, with free parking on weekends.

One thing is certain, the next time I am in Staunton, I will eat at the Baja Bean Company.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berryville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Great food & friendly people!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We came late on the Friday night of Labor Day weekend and were just tired and hungry not knowing where to go. By chance we saw the Baja Bean sign and decided to give it a go and we were glad we did! The people both dining and waiting on us were all so nice. There was a theater group that had finished with rehearsals in for a late dinner and one made a balloon animal for my very exhausted 2.5 year old that entertained him the whole time we were there. Since it was late we did not order much, I had the black and white quesadilla and my husband had the cheese both with chips and salsa. They were excellent. The black and white was made with cheese and black beans and was actually very filling. If you are in the area definitely stop in (but give the fresh made salsa a good stir as all of the flavor seemed to rest at the bottom of the bowl).

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baja Bean Co. also viewed

 

Been to Baja Bean Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baja Bean Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.