We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 11 Staunton B&B and Inns
scranton, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were very pleased with Anne Hathaway's Bed and Breakfast. I was impressed with the cleanliness. The breakfast was wonderful--homemade strawberry soup, cranberry pomegranite juice, egg souffle. Juliette was welcoming and so friendly, and we were very comfortable.
Highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    7
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
29
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed at this B&B in Staunton while taking just a quick weekend for ourselves. The proprietor is a lovely English lady, Juliette, who knows just the right balance between making you feel welcome and leaving you to yourselves. The home is quite English in style, and comfortable. Our room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was spacious and modern! Although this is in the middle of a neighborhood, you feel like you are worlds apart, thanks to the outbuildings and the lovely English garden in the front of the house. The others staying there were interesting people and we had some great breakfast conversations. We would definitely return here next time we plan a quick getaway!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

We picked Anne Hathaway's because we could walk to the downtown area, but will return for its charm and Juliette's gracious innkeeping. The public areas are lovely and the guestrooms are spacious and well appointed. It is exactly as pictured - a piece of England magically transported to Staunton. The gardens are beautiful and Juliette puts cut arrangements in all the rooms - a nice touch. The breakfasts, which include jams made by the owner, are also very good.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012

Going to Staunton, Virginia and staying at Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B is like traveling to Europe. Staunton itself is a wonderful village on a hillside in Augusta County reminescent of village in Europe, but staying at Anne Hathways takes the experience over-the-top. The accommodations are all first class. The wonderfully comfortable bedrooms with high beds that makes you feel like a queen, or at least like Lilly Tomlin. The breakfast is extra special, often with fresh herbs, and always satisfying. The gardens are beautiful and sitting with your tea, coffee or a bit of Port is a very relaxing experience. If the owner is there, ask her about any plants you particularly like and she will share her green knowledge wtith you. We've been there twice and plan to take friends back with us again to experience this.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Anne Hathaway's Cottage is very beautiful and is eye candy to someone driving towards it for the first time-- especially if you've just seen a play at the American Shakespeare Theater and are in the Shakespearean mindset. From the website it seems that it is nestled apart from other houses, but it is in fact in a neighborhood with homes all around. Parking is behind the cottage, with plenty of space-- I always appreciate stress free parking!

We stayed on a Sunday night so we didn't see Juliette the owner but we were greeted by Carol the manager. She is very helpful and we felt very welcomed. The grand foyer you walk into was my favorite part! It has high ceilings with dark beams across it, and large flags hanging from it. They have a click on and off fireplace too, which was easy for us to use and very cozy, with couches and chairs that make themselves highly amenable to playing games or reading. The cottage has a few games (checkers, dominos, monopoly) and lots of books around to read. There are free amenities such as tea and hot chocolate available to you at any time.

No other travelers booked the other rooms, so after checking us in Carol left and promised to be back the next morning. We were on our own, and we had an excellent dinner at Zynodoa restaurant.

The next morning, Carol came back and fixed us up some cut grapefruit, kiwi, heated date bread and another kind of specialty bread, and we had yogurt and some cereals such as raison bran and plain cheerios available as well. (Nothing most kids would like, fyi if you are here with young family members you will have to go out to eat for breakfast).

We enjoyed our stay, and the only reason I couldn't give it five stars is because there is a strong musty smell in the cottage that permeates everywhere-- every single clothing item we were wearing and brought with us had to be washed. If you brought something that is dry clean only, leave it in the car for the night.

Room Tip: Williams Room is on the first floor-- good if you don't want stairs, or have handicaps-- it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed a the Anne Hathaway Cottage B&B was part of a 2 day trip from the DC area combining it with a visit to the Blackfriars Playhouse.

The cottage was filled with Shakespearean memorabilia and the owner happened to be there to provide pleasant conversation, tea and details on the tasteful selections that make the Inn such a pleasant experience. II enjoyed the 3 friendly cats too.

We stayed in the Romeo room on the 2nd -floor which has a comfortable four poster queen bed. We had a cozy winter night’s stay and enjoyed all the conveniences including the evening sherry, robes after a shower (no bath alas), bottled water, in room wine glasses and cork remover.

I like the wall decorations of play bills which fit our visit to Blackfriars.
The breakfast was pleasant if a bit on the bready side, but the jams were wonderful and the coffee good.
We enjoyed a bargain, one day, off season rate of $99.00.

Room Tip: All of them looked good and the bed selection might be the main factor. We like a large, single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

One reason I generally prefer hotels to B&B's is the decor: Most B&B's strike me as the sort of place an elderly maiden aunt would choose - a fussy, feminine place full of frills and overstuffed furniture. Anne Hathaway's cottage - a four-year-old Tudor cottage built specifically to complement in with Staunton's leading attraction (the American Shakespeare Center) - avoids this.

It's a lovely place, with plenty of pretty touches, but it's not at all fussy. I liked that. There are also nice, typically English touches - a large great-room with a working fireplace; sherry and port on the sideboard; and an ample selection of teas, ready for brewing. It's also nicely located, at the west end of Staunton's bustling, revitalized downtown.

The only real drawback was the breakfast, which was essentially an expanded continental breakfast - with grapefruit and a selection of breads and pastries (some homemade, some clearly store-bought) - but without a hint of eggs, sausages, or other hearty foods I associate with England.

All in all, a cozy, comfortable, and cleverly-designed place to spend the night. Strong on the "bed". So-so on the "breakfast".

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietteswenson, Owner at Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Twas an hour before breakfast
and all through the place
the smell of fresh coffee
felt good on my face.
The fruit was so fresh
and the oatmeal devine -
but I longed for an egg
to make my day fine.
The "help" was most helpful
the company good
but I said n'ere a word
of my yen for this food.
If I'd come on a weekend
and paid the full rate
there'd be quiche and some meat
to fill up my plate.

Just a reminder that the price is lower Monday-Thursday but only an expanded continental breakfast is offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Staunton
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Stonewall Jackson Hotel and Conference Center
Quiet, Free Par...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Staunton
Hampton Inn Staunton
#2 of 15 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 239 reviews
Free Breakfast...
Show More
3.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
BEST WESTERN Staunton Inn
#3 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
3.2 mi away
Red Roof Inn Staunton
Red Roof Inn Staunton
#5 of 15 in Staunton
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Mid-range, Roma...
Show More
3.3 mi away
Inn at Old Virginia
Inn at Old Virginia
#1 of 11 in Staunton
5.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Free Parking, R...
Show More
0.6 mi away
Frederick House
Frederick House
#5 of 11 in Staunton
4.5 of 5 stars 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staunton Bed and Breakfast offering three guest rooms - all with private baths, free WiFi, cable TV and queen beds. Charming thatched cottage set in large garden. Close to Polyface farm as well as many other places to visit. We take pets and are set on an acre of gardens although close to the center of town. Enjoy the quiet of not being right in the center where late night music can disturb you. Come and enjoy wine tasting, antiquing or exploring downtown. Blackfriar's theatre offers shows 5 days a week and we have 2 art cinemas. Lots of places to visit nearby like the Frontier Culture Museum, Woodrow Wilson birthplace, Monticello, and of course the Blue Ridge Parkway where you can hike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list