We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like an English Cottage!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Staunton B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Like an English Cottage!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

Anne Hathaway's Cottage is very beautiful and is eye candy to someone driving towards it for the first time-- especially if you've just seen a play at the American Shakespeare Theater and are in the Shakespearean mindset. From the website it seems that it is nestled apart from other houses, but it is in fact in a neighborhood with homes all around. Parking is behind the cottage, with plenty of space-- I always appreciate stress free parking!

We stayed on a Sunday night so we didn't see Juliette the owner but we were greeted by Carol the manager. She is very helpful and we felt very welcomed. The grand foyer you walk into was my favorite part! It has high ceilings with dark beams across it, and large flags hanging from it. They have a click on and off fireplace too, which was easy for us to use and very cozy, with couches and chairs that make themselves highly amenable to playing games or reading. The cottage has a few games (checkers, dominos, monopoly) and lots of books around to read. There are free amenities such as tea and hot chocolate available to you at any time.

No other travelers booked the other rooms, so after checking us in Carol left and promised to be back the next morning. We were on our own, and we had an excellent dinner at Zynodoa restaurant.

The next morning, Carol came back and fixed us up some cut grapefruit, kiwi, heated date bread and another kind of specialty bread, and we had yogurt and some cereals such as raison bran and plain cheerios available as well. (Nothing most kids would like, fyi if you are here with young family members you will have to go out to eat for breakfast).

We enjoyed our stay, and the only reason I couldn't give it five stars is because there is a strong musty smell in the cottage that permeates everywhere-- every single clothing item we were wearing and brought with us had to be washed. If you brought something that is dry clean only, leave it in the car for the night.

Room Tip: Williams Room is on the first floor-- good if you don't want stairs, or have handicaps-- it has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    30
    7
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
26
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

We stayed a the Anne Hathaway Cottage B&B was part of a 2 day trip from the DC area combining it with a visit to the Blackfriars Playhouse.

The cottage was filled with Shakespearean memorabilia and the owner happened to be there to provide pleasant conversation, tea and details on the tasteful selections that make the Inn such a pleasant experience. II enjoyed the 3 friendly cats too.

We stayed in the Romeo room on the 2nd -floor which has a comfortable four poster queen bed. We had a cozy winter night’s stay and enjoyed all the conveniences including the evening sherry, robes after a shower (no bath alas), bottled water, in room wine glasses and cork remover.

I like the wall decorations of play bills which fit our visit to Blackfriars.
The breakfast was pleasant if a bit on the bready side, but the jams were wonderful and the coffee good.
We enjoyed a bargain, one day, off season rate of $99.00.

Room Tip: All of them looked good and the bed selection might be the main factor. We like a large, single bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

One reason I generally prefer hotels to B&B's is the decor: Most B&B's strike me as the sort of place an elderly maiden aunt would choose - a fussy, feminine place full of frills and overstuffed furniture. Anne Hathaway's cottage - a four-year-old Tudor cottage built specifically to complement in with Staunton's leading attraction (the American Shakespeare Center) - avoids this.

It's a lovely place, with plenty of pretty touches, but it's not at all fussy. I liked that. There are also nice, typically English touches - a large great-room with a working fireplace; sherry and port on the sideboard; and an ample selection of teas, ready for brewing. It's also nicely located, at the west end of Staunton's bustling, revitalized downtown.

The only real drawback was the breakfast, which was essentially an expanded continental breakfast - with grapefruit and a selection of breads and pastries (some homemade, some clearly store-bought) - but without a hint of eggs, sausages, or other hearty foods I associate with England.

All in all, a cozy, comfortable, and cleverly-designed place to spend the night. Strong on the "bed". So-so on the "breakfast".

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietteswenson, Owner at Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Twas an hour before breakfast
and all through the place
the smell of fresh coffee
felt good on my face.
The fruit was so fresh
and the oatmeal devine -
but I longed for an egg
to make my day fine.
The "help" was most helpful
the company good
but I said n'ere a word
of my yen for this food.
If I'd come on a weekend
and paid the full rate
there'd be quiche and some meat
to fill up my plate.

Just a reminder that the price is lower Monday-Thursday but only an expanded continental breakfast is offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family stayed two nights and we visited Monticello, Natural Bridge and the Black Friar Theater. Rooms could not be more perfect. Juliette was a wonderful host and breakfast was just wonderful. This is a must stay and we will be returning to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This cottage was just what my wife and I needed for a quiet getaway from it all weekend. Juliette was a most gracious and marvelous host. We enjoyed visiting with her and much appreciated her care for us. The two us us would definitely return, and highly recommend it to others

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Anne Hathaway's Cottage for three nights, using it as our base to discover this part of Virginia. We explored Monticello, Skyline Drive, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Museum, the Black Friar Theater (saw The Tempest and it was good), wineries, and great restaurants!

Our room and bath were a good size, and we could control the air conditioning which was great, because boy was it hot in July! Our host and owner, Juliette, was very helpful and gracious. She was nice enough to let us store our picnic food in her fridge for our stay.

During the week Juliette serves a continental breakfast, but during the weekend she serves a full breakfast. We were there Monday through Thursday and took advantage of a reduced room rate. The property was beautiful and it was right next door to the best bakery in town! Great bread! We would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nestled in its neighborhood, Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B is an exceptional delight offering an unusual lodging experience in America. The archictecture of the home, itself, is worth a visit with its thatched roof, diamond paned windows, and exposed timber framing. Add to that the beauty and fragrance of Juliette's garden and you're transported across "the pond" and through time to a simpler life...without leaving behind all the luxury and conveniences of modern America.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and stayed in Juliet's room. Thoughtfully appointed, the room was comfortable, warm, and offered amenities one would hardly expect in a B&B like a towel warmer. We had to inquire for nothing...all was anticipated and provided...iron, toiletries if we forgot something, bath robes.

The main gathering/dinning room is a comfortable showplace -- that could describe everything about Anne Hathaway's! Music, fresh cut flowers, a fireplace, sherry or port, coffee or tea and chocolates at your disposal 24/7. Hospitality at its best.

All was impeccably clean and our room and bath was straightened and cleaned after our first night.

Breakfast was elegant but simple...reinforcing the feeling of quality comfort without being pretentious or off-putting. Most improtantly, all was delicious!

Juliette is the perfect hostess and gracious in everything she does. She's also very interesting and fun to get to know. We love her!

Located a short drive or bike ride from Downtown stores and attractions, sight-seeing in Staunton was easy and stress-free. We never had any problem finding parking on Beverley Street and lots and a garage had ample spaces throughout out visit.

Downtown shops and restaurants were interesting and eclectic and made for intriguing exploration. The nightlife in this small town was very surprising! Young and old, families and singles/couples mixed in the streets as live music (and it was GOOD) wafted block to block from several inviting venues.

We saw "The Importance of Being Ernest" at the Black Friar Theatre during our visit and it was an excellent performance and experience. The theatre is a gem to behold and its intimacy (capitalized on by the troupe) makes for a fun unusually relaxed experience for the visitor.

Would we recommend Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B? Enthusiastically! We'll be back, and as often as possible. We left using words like "wonderful", "fantastic", and "perfect." We can't wait until next time!

Thank you, Juliette, for creating a fairy-tale escape that we don't just have to dream about!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staunton Bed and Breakfast offering three guest rooms - all with private baths, free WiFi, cable TV and queen beds. Charming thatched cottage set in large garden. Close to Polyface farm as well as many other places to visit. We take pets and are set on an acre of gardens although close to the center of town. Enjoy the quiet of not being right in the center where late night music can disturb you. Come and enjoy wine tasting, antiquing or exploring downtown. Blackfriar's theatre offers shows 5 days a week and we have 2 art cinemas. Lots of places to visit nearby like the Frontier Culture Museum, Woodrow Wilson birthplace, Monticello, and of course the Blue Ridge Parkway where you can hike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list