We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A most pleasant stay in Tudor style.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Staunton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn
Save
You added Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn to your Saves list
950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 12 Staunton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A most pleasant stay in Tudor style.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2011

One reason I generally prefer hotels to B&B's is the decor: Most B&B's strike me as the sort of place an elderly maiden aunt would choose - a fussy, feminine place full of frills and overstuffed furniture. Anne Hathaway's cottage - a four-year-old Tudor cottage built specifically to complement in with Staunton's leading attraction (the American Shakespeare Center) - avoids this.

It's a lovely place, with plenty of pretty touches, but it's not at all fussy. I liked that. There are also nice, typically English touches - a large great-room with a working fireplace; sherry and port on the sideboard; and an ample selection of teas, ready for brewing. It's also nicely located, at the west end of Staunton's bustling, revitalized downtown.

The only real drawback was the breakfast, which was essentially an expanded continental breakfast - with grapefruit and a selection of breads and pastries (some homemade, some clearly store-bought) - but without a hint of eggs, sausages, or other hearty foods I associate with England.

All in all, a cozy, comfortable, and cleverly-designed place to spend the night. Strong on the "bed". So-so on the "breakfast".

Room Tip: All three rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
julietteswenson, Owner at Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2011
Twas an hour before breakfast
and all through the place
the smell of fresh coffee
felt good on my face.
The fruit was so fresh
and the oatmeal devine -
but I longed for an egg
to make my day fine.
The "help" was most helpful
the company good
but I said n'ere a word
of my yen for this food.
If I'd come on a weekend
and paid the full rate
there'd be quiche and some meat
to fill up my plate.

Just a reminder that the price is lower Monday-Thursday but only an expanded continental breakfast is offered.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

My family stayed two nights and we visited Monticello, Natural Bridge and the Black Friar Theater. Rooms could not be more perfect. Juliette was a wonderful host and breakfast was just wonderful. This is a must stay and we will be returning to visit again.

Room Tip: All the rooms were perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

This cottage was just what my wife and I needed for a quiet getaway from it all weekend. Juliette was a most gracious and marvelous host. We enjoyed visiting with her and much appreciated her care for us. The two us us would definitely return, and highly recommend it to others

Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, PA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

My husband and I stayed at Anne Hathaway's Cottage for three nights, using it as our base to discover this part of Virginia. We explored Monticello, Skyline Drive, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Museum, the Black Friar Theater (saw The Tempest and it was good), wineries, and great restaurants!

Our room and bath were a good size, and we could control the air conditioning which was great, because boy was it hot in July! Our host and owner, Juliette, was very helpful and gracious. She was nice enough to let us store our picnic food in her fridge for our stay.

During the week Juliette serves a continental breakfast, but during the weekend she serves a full breakfast. We were there Monday through Thursday and took advantage of a reduced room rate. The property was beautiful and it was right next door to the best bakery in town! Great bread! We would definitely visit again!

Room Tip: All rooms are good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Nestled in its neighborhood, Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B is an exceptional delight offering an unusual lodging experience in America. The archictecture of the home, itself, is worth a visit with its thatched roof, diamond paned windows, and exposed timber framing. Add to that the beauty and fragrance of Juliette's garden and you're transported across "the pond" and through time to a simpler life...without leaving behind all the luxury and conveniences of modern America.

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and stayed in Juliet's room. Thoughtfully appointed, the room was comfortable, warm, and offered amenities one would hardly expect in a B&B like a towel warmer. We had to inquire for nothing...all was anticipated and provided...iron, toiletries if we forgot something, bath robes.

The main gathering/dinning room is a comfortable showplace -- that could describe everything about Anne Hathaway's! Music, fresh cut flowers, a fireplace, sherry or port, coffee or tea and chocolates at your disposal 24/7. Hospitality at its best.

All was impeccably clean and our room and bath was straightened and cleaned after our first night.

Breakfast was elegant but simple...reinforcing the feeling of quality comfort without being pretentious or off-putting. Most improtantly, all was delicious!

Juliette is the perfect hostess and gracious in everything she does. She's also very interesting and fun to get to know. We love her!

Located a short drive or bike ride from Downtown stores and attractions, sight-seeing in Staunton was easy and stress-free. We never had any problem finding parking on Beverley Street and lots and a garage had ample spaces throughout out visit.

Downtown shops and restaurants were interesting and eclectic and made for intriguing exploration. The nightlife in this small town was very surprising! Young and old, families and singles/couples mixed in the streets as live music (and it was GOOD) wafted block to block from several inviting venues.

We saw "The Importance of Being Ernest" at the Black Friar Theatre during our visit and it was an excellent performance and experience. The theatre is a gem to behold and its intimacy (capitalized on by the troupe) makes for a fun unusually relaxed experience for the visitor.

Would we recommend Anne Hathaway's Cottage B&B? Enthusiastically! We'll be back, and as often as possible. We left using words like "wonderful", "fantastic", and "perfect." We can't wait until next time!

Thank you, Juliette, for creating a fairy-tale escape that we don't just have to dream about!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

Anne Hathaway's B&B was a charming little place in a middle of a well maintained garden. Ms. Juliette well out did herself with this place! Even her cats, Puck, Lear and Portia are adorable. Upon arrival, we were greeted warmly, shown around, taken to our room and then told exactly what there was going on in town. After seeing the room, who would want to leave, except for the yummy breakfast that she prepares. Overall, it was a wonderful experience and I cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2011

Our group of four adults spent a Thursday and Friday night in mid-May 2011 at Anne Hathaway's Cottage in Staunton, VA. Juliette Swenson, the owner and hostess, formerly from Bath, England, warmly welcomed us upon arrival. As we entered the Great Room from the parking area behind the cottage, classical music softly played on the sound system and carafes of port and sherry stood nearby ( as well as every conceivable blend of tea and a constantly-hot, water dispenser).

Juliette oriented us to the handsomely furnished "Romeo" and "Juliet" bedrooms, made sure we understood how to work the satellite TV controls (although we never watched once) and then briefed us on the many restaurants, sights, and historical venues in town and nearby. Our first trip out the door was to Juliette's garden, comprising an amazingly beautiful collection this time of year of blooming iris and other mid spring flowering plants. It is reminiscent of a botanical garden, and she has populated it with plants that do well in the Staunton environment. Our walking tour of the historic Thornrose Cemetery (literally across the street) produced a question to her about some very tall, stately trees we observed there, with smooth, gray bark and maroon colored leaves, which she identified for us as copper beeches.

Anne Hathaway's Cottage, as the name suggests, is a modern 2008 reincarnation of the structure in which William Shakespeare's wife was raised.The furnishings, books, wall hangings, great oak beams, wavy glass windows, fireplace (too warm in May to use!) and real thatch roof combine to create an unusual visual experience. The downstairs has a fully accessible bathroom for travelers needing such. The garden was developed by Juliette in 2004, before building began, and a binder of photographs taken in 2008 as the cottage was erected shows how it all came together.

Juliette topped our breakfasts both days with fresh mint from her garden, lots of coffee for us non-tea drinkers, and she even responded graciously to a special breakfast request sprung on her after one of us experienced some traveler's indigestion. It was clear that she enjoyed her interactions with us, but she always respected our privacy, too. A final touch we all enjoyed was the occasional friendly cat inside sunning itself or outside on the porches.

We are outdoors types, and it is only a half hour drive to the entrance to Shenandoah National Park and Skyline Drive to the north and the Blue Ridge Parkway to the south at the Rockfish Gap crossing of I-64. We hiked the Turk Mountain trail in a refreshing fog and enjoyed the mountain's blooming early azaleas, followed by a visit to the Afton Mountain Vineyard for a wine tasting. We also visited the nearby Polyface Farm on one of its scheduled tours, a farm featured in the documentary, Food Inc., and practicing environmentally friendly, non-industrial farming meat production practices.

Our visit to Anne Hathaway's Cottage was a highlight of a fun trip to Staunton.

Room Tip: No street noise on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn

Address: 950 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staunton Bed and Breakfast offering three guest rooms - all with private baths, free WiFi, cable TV and queen beds. Charming thatched cottage set in large garden. Close to Polyface farm as well as many other places to visit. We take pets and are set on an acre of gardens although close to the center of town. Enjoy the quiet of not being right in the center where late night music can disturb you. Come and enjoy wine tasting, antiquing or exploring downtown. Blackfriar's theatre offers shows 5 days a week and we have 2 art cinemas. Lots of places to visit nearby like the Frontier Culture Museum, Woodrow Wilson birthplace, Monticello, and of course the Blue Ridge Parkway where you can hike. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anne Hathaway's Cottage Bed & Breakfast Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.