We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class in a comfortable setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Zynodoa

Zynodoa
115 E Beverley Street, Staunton, VA 24401
+1 540-885-7775
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #2 of 101 restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Staunton, Virginia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A touch of class in a comfortable setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Delicious regional food, creative chef, best restaurant in Staunton. Good wine list and knowledgeable wait staff.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    177
    43
    19
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bluemont, VA
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Good pre-Theater Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good food and attentive staff. The waiter (Bill) was very entertaining and attentive. The food is locally sourced and prepared very well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“More shine than substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Service was great and the dining elegant. It was filled with a great crowd and had the kind of energy that you would want in a downtown high end restaurant. We were having an exceptional evening in all ways except when the food came. I thought the use of vinegar was heavy handing and overshadowed the quality and flavor of the food. I sample several of the dishes at the table and was disappointed to find the same thing in more than one dish. It appears from the other reviews that others enjoy it greatly, but it just wasn't for my palate. Prices were what you would expect for that type of dining but seemed a little steep for the experience. Would go again if my crowd wanted to, but not likely to go of my own accord.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“One reason for Staunton's rating at the 10th best small city in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Whether you agree with the Smithsonian's review of Staunton as the 10th best small city in the US, one attraction is the food at Zynodoa. Our recent meal with friends there was our first, but will not be our last. Drawing heavily on local Virginia and Valley produce and poultry, the dishes showed both imagination and style. And while the menu suffers somewhat from the adjective overkill found in creative and high-end restaurants, the staff did a wonderful job of explaining each dish, including the ingredients in the Irish (Guinness) cheesecake. While my dish drew on a definite non-local, shrimp, it was blended in combination with local produce (which may have been from the restaurant's own farm or one of several local providers, such as Harvest Thyme farm) and fell somewhere between a cioppino and a seafood grill. My wife's chicken from Polyface farm and the dishes of our friends were equally creative and delicious. Zynodoa is not a bargain, averaging $50 a person before tip, but it is value for the money and a memorable meal. And it's a short walk to two movie theatres, live music at the Mockingbird and Shakespeare at the Blackfriars Playhouse.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Wow. What a dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unbelievable meal. Ingredients are all from local area farms, cooked fresh. Menu changes daily. Chef is very creative.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zynodoa also viewed

 

Been to Zynodoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zynodoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.