We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pre-Theater Place to Eat” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zynodoa

Zynodoa
115 E Beverley Street, Staunton, VA 24401
+1 540-885-7775
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 110 Restaurants in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bluemont, VA
Level Contributor
95 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good pre-Theater Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Good food and attentive staff. The waiter (Bill) was very entertaining and attentive. The food is locally sourced and prepared very well.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    267
    70
    34
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stuarts Draft, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“More shine than substance”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Service was great and the dining elegant. It was filled with a great crowd and had the kind of energy that you would want in a downtown high end restaurant. We were having an exceptional evening in all ways except when the food came. I thought the use of vinegar was heavy handing and overshadowed the quality and flavor of the food. I sample several of the dishes at the table and was disappointed to find the same thing in more than one dish. It appears from the other reviews that others enjoy it greatly, but it just wasn't for my palate. Prices were what you would expect for that type of dining but seemed a little steep for the experience. Would go again if my crowd wanted to, but not likely to go of my own accord.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cross Junction, Virginia
Level Contributor
94 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“One reason for Staunton's rating at the 10th best small city in the US”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Whether you agree with the Smithsonian's review of Staunton as the 10th best small city in the US, one attraction is the food at Zynodoa. Our recent meal with friends there was our first, but will not be our last. Drawing heavily on local Virginia and Valley produce and poultry, the dishes showed both imagination and style. And while the menu suffers somewhat from the adjective overkill found in creative and high-end restaurants, the staff did a wonderful job of explaining each dish, including the ingredients in the Irish (Guinness) cheesecake. While my dish drew on a definite non-local, shrimp, it was blended in combination with local produce (which may have been from the restaurant's own farm or one of several local providers, such as Harvest Thyme farm) and fell somewhere between a cioppino and a seafood grill. My wife's chicken from Polyface farm and the dishes of our friends were equally creative and delicious. Zynodoa is not a bargain, averaging $50 a person before tip, but it is value for the money and a memorable meal. And it's a short walk to two movie theatres, live music at the Mockingbird and Shakespeare at the Blackfriars Playhouse.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow. What a dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Unbelievable meal. Ingredients are all from local area farms, cooked fresh. Menu changes daily. Chef is very creative.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“So Good the First Time, We Came Right Back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My Spouse and I made a reservation for a Saturday night at 7:00 pm and were seated promptly upon our arrival 10 minutes early. Our server (Bill?) was well informed and very attentive. Each of our courses was paired with our wine selection (a Deep Red Malbec variety) with recommendations by our server.

The menu changes constantly according to the available products from local farms and food purveyors, so we can't recommend anything from the menu in particular, but when it's 'farm-to-fork' as they do at Zynodoa, you won't be disappointed.

We enjoyed our first evening meal so much, that we returned again on Sunday evening (TAKE NOTE: this is one of the few places in town with a kitchen open at 9:00 pm on a Sunday evening.) and enjoyed a hearty pasta dish with local Oyster Mushrooms from AM Fog. (Which we love seeing at the Williamsburg, VA Farmer's Market as well!)

Don't be surprised at the prices, but you will truly get what you pay for. It's worth the splurge.

We are going back for sure.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zynodoa also viewed

 

Been to Zynodoa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zynodoa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.