We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and a friendly welcome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clocktower Restaurant & Bar

Clocktower Restaurant & Bar
27 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401
+1 540-213-0665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 106 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Great food and a friendly welcome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014 via mobile

I arrived late in the evening about 45 minutes before closing time and was welcomed inside and not treated like a nuisance for being so late.

I narrowed down my entree to two from the menu and on the recommendation of Simon the waiter chose the pork rib eye. It was really moist with a piquant sauce which was very strongly flavoured.

I'd certainly eat here again if I was in the area.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    44
    13
    5
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Homemade pasta and soups”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Very cute place in the middle of town, surrounded by antique shops. The server was sweet and very helpful. They specialize in many sandwiches that looked awesome, but we decided on the homemade pasta, which was delicious. We also had the roasted corn soup, that is a must if you are there.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Adorable restaurant, wonderful waitress”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We came into the Clocktower
based on reviews on tripadvisor. Not only was the food delicious, but the waitress was even more memorable. We told her we were just passing through Staunton and had some time to kill and she went out of her way to tell us about neat attractions in the area. Would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic find in a classic American small town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

We had a really wonderful visit at Clocktower over lunch. Lovely place, professional and warm service, and very good food. What a find!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, Minnesota
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“So glad I went back a second time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

We decided to try the Clocktower a second time and were completely satisfied with our experience. Even though we sat outside, our server was always aware of our needs and served us promptly. Both she and the manager were very friendly and accommodating to us and our dog, who sat quietly on the side. He was even served water in a bowl!
The meal was one of their specials that night: chorizo and avocado burger with sweet potato fries. First, the burger tasted like nothing I've ever had before. It was absolutely delicious. The sweet potato fries were perfectly cooked and came with some sweet dipping sauce. It was the perfect portion size for both my husband and me: not too little, not too much, just right.
I get there weekend specials emailed to me, and I plan to go back for some other new and exciting meals. We eat out 5 times a week, and I appreciate the opportunity to try something new, as restaurants generally tend to offer the same things. If you're in Staunton, Clocktower is right downtown in the historic section. Check it out!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clocktower Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Staunton, VA
 

Been to Clocktower Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clocktower Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.