We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Restaurant for lunch for 1st visit to Staunton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clocktower Restaurant & Bar

Clocktower Restaurant & Bar
27 West Beverly Street, Staunton, VA 24401
+1 540-213-0665
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 104 Restaurants in Staunton
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: American, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Crozet, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Restaurant for lunch for 1st visit to Staunton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We visited Staunton for the 1st time ever today and had a wonderful lunch at this restaurant. Our waitress was awesome, she gave great recommendations and made me want to try everything on the menu! She was amazing to my 3 year old son as well. The food was awesome. The roasted red pepper is very different from other roasted red pepper soups I've had before (and I've had a ton) but absolutely delicious and a pleasant surprise. My tuscan chicken sandwich was awesome and my son's kids meal was really good. Fries and Onion Rigns were great as was my dad's bloody mary that was well worth the midday drink.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    39
    11
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bel Air, Maryland
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Pleasant meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

This was our third trip to Staunton (since 2010) and our second trip to the Clocktower. I started with the corn chowder soup, which was creamy and had lots of roasted corn--a really good start. My wife had the side salad, which looked colorful, and appeared to have a nice variety of greens and salad fixings. We each had the smothered chicken, which started with a juicy grilled breast, topped with spinach, cheese and nuts. Both of us liked it. Finally, we shared a large slice of the peanut butter pie. With drinks, tax & tip, our meal was a little under $60, so the price was fair.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“so so”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

Very nice building. Lots of history. so so food, service wasn't very good. waited way too long for our waitress to even take our drink order and there was only one other table of customers at the time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clocktower27, General Manager at Clocktower Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, September 14, 2012
We are very sorry that this happened. This is not a customary occurrence at our Restaurant as you can see from our other Reviews. If you would please contact me via email, clocktowerrestaurantandbar@gmail.com, for complete details, I would like to resolve this issue to your satisfaction.
Thank you,
Jennifer Taylor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic stop on our cross country trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We just stopped here after an 8 hr trip across Kentucky and West Virginia. This is a charming place! They have a great list of beers on tap. We had the BLT, bacon, lettuce and fried green tomato sandwich. WOW! It was really awesome! The service was superb and friendly. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Delicious Food and Friendly Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We found this restaurant accidentally while passing through on the way back to NJ and it was terrific. We had a very nice waitress who brought us some very creative and wonderful martinis. They even hand press apples for their apple martinis and they were the best yet! Their crab cakes have hardly any filler and rival any I have had in Maryland or elsewhere. The owner was gracious and charming, clearly wanting us to have an enjoyable evening. He even introduced us to another patron from our part of NJ. Make a point to visit this charming town and delicious restaurant. They deserve the business.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clocktower Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 
Staunton, VA
Staunton, VA
 

Been to Clocktower Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clocktower Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.