We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place To Go For Hamburgers” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Five Guys

Five Guys
1013 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
(540) 885-8861
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 105 Restaurants in Staunton
Cuisines: Fast Food
Restaurant details
Asheville
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“A Place To Go For Hamburgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Having read many reviews recommending 5 Guys, my wife and I visited the Staunton location. The $5.59 double burgers are large and made from fresh ground meat. Unlike many other restaurants, there is a large amount of toppings(such as mushrooms, grilled onions, tomatoes, etc.) available at no additional charge. We ordered the full amount of toppings and found out that they overwhelm the taste of the hamburger. The next time we will limit the toppings to better appreciate the great tasting burger.

A single order of fries was more than enough for two people. While waiting for the burger (not a long wait), one can munch on free peanuts in a shell.

We were impressed by the friendliness of the help and constant attention to cleaning the restaurant.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    12
    16
    4
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Covington, Virginia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Awesome burger, you won't leave hungry!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

This was my first ever trip to a five guys and I had been dying to try. I was pleasantly surprised. The employees were friendly, the place was loud but clean, and you get plenty of food. I got a little cheeseburger and it was not little. Got a large fry to split and it was enough for 4-5 people. You can definitely split a regular fry with someone else. I would come back again.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Pet friendly (in summer)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

On our yearly summer trip to North Carolina, we always stop at Five Guys, since we discovered that they have an outdoor terrace with shaded tables. We travel with our pampered cat Arthur, and it is too hot to leave him in the car. We always have a great meal, and Arthur (in his carrier) can eat with us. Everyone is happy!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesboro
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

Very attentive staff, yummy food and huge portions. This is the best around. Peanuts in the shell are good as well.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia, USA
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Five Guys is fine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

They give you lots of food and it is pretty good. I think it is kind of expensive for what you get, but the servings are huge. They give you peanuts to eat while you wait. It is kind of fun for an every now and then kind of thing.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Five Guys also viewed

 

Been to Five Guys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Five Guys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.