We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a quick stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for a quick stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2009

Three friends and I stayed here for one night. We did not partake in any of the amenities offered by the hotel as we had a full schedule outside the hotel. The pool looked nice but it was outdoors and not open. Breakfast looked to be pretty standard fare for free breakfasts. The staff was courteous and helpful when we asked for suggestions but seemed to stick to the chain restaurants when we were looking for local restaurants. We had a standard room with two double beds. It was clean and did what we needed it to do. This hotel is right off of I-81 and yet was very quiet. The location is one of its best features if you are looking for easy access to 1-81 or downtown Staunton.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    57
    34
    23
    10
See reviews for
66
59
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2009

To keep it short and sweet, this hotel is awful, and nowhere near worth the almost $100 we paid for a one-night stay. The rooms were dirty with what must have been pubic hair in the sheets and in the bathroom. Though the room had a card claiming it had been cleaned, from the condition of the sheets, we were unable to suspend our disbelief.

The worst feature of this hotel is the fact that there is a railroad line that must be running along the border of the property. We were shocked when at 3am the room started shaking and we heard a train's horn bellow out, waking us up out of an otherwise peaceful sleep.

Should you feel like staying at the Comfort Inn Staunton, ask yourself whether you like midnight trains, outdated decor and dirty rooms. If your answer is a resounding "YES," then get on your phone and make a booking today... you won't regret it!

P.S., Upon contacting Choice Hotels to complain about the quality of the hotel, we were laughed at by a company representative who suggested that we should have known about the train line through our own research. We will certainly avoid Comfort Inns in the future, and will likely try to avoid any properties owned by Choice Hotels.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

When we got to the hotel, it was dark so we only saw the lobby. It was a nice lobby, and clean. We checked in, and went up to our room. When we got out of the elevator on the 5th floor, the hallway looked very '70s. There was ugly purple carpet and dusty ceiling tiles. When we got to our room, the room was plain, and slightly dirty. The bathroom had some hair on the floor. But, there were no bugs. I would only reccomend this hotel to people who don't mind a bit of dirt to save a few bucks, but I would not stay here again.

  • Liked — The Food/Lobby
  • Disliked — The Bathroom
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2007

After a long drive from Lake Lure, NC we weren't sure of this place since it's next to the Waffle House and at 11:30pm on a Saturday; it didn't look so promising. Looks can be deceiving. I walked right in to a friendly face and gave my husband check-in info and we carried our 2 little ones up with us. The room was a 2Q bed with chairs, internet, coffee, fridge & microwave. Updated like new decor with wonderful down pillows with 4 to a bed which is a plus in my book. The bathroom seemed updated as well. The tub could have used a little help in the clean dept. The continental breakfast was standing room only and like the previous poster stated---CARB Heaven with hot/cold beverages, cereals, breads and fresh fruit. I would stay here again if I was passing through the area.

  • Liked — comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — small cramped breakfast area -- very congested
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2007

Rooms are nice & quiet until the trains rumble through! Immediately adjacent to the parking lot is the Norfolk Southern line. Honestly, I didn't wake up to any during the night, but there were several shortly after dawn. Breakfast is carb-intense; skip it & go to Mrs. Rowes about a half-mile east for a fine traditional Virginia breakfast.

  • Liked — Large clean room
  • Disliked — Railroad, lousy TV
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2005

Room was clean, breakfast all right, though the pastries were a bit stale, wireless network worked pretty well. Front desk staff could not have been less interested in me, my comfort, whether I had everything I needed.

  • Stayed September 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2004

My new husband and I stayed at the Comfort Inn in Staunton in May of 2004.
The front desk personal were great. The room was spick-n-span. The complimentary breakfast was wonderful. We highly reccomend the Staunton Comfort Inn to all our friends and family.
The Morris'

  • Stayed May 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.