We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice room ,great staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Certificate of Excellence
Atco, New Jersey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“nice room ,great staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We liked the hotel very much. It was very easy to find. The staff was Great !! They were always helpful and answered any questions we had about the area.
The pool was nice and warm. They also had a nice playground for the kids. Breakfast was good and had a good selection waffles, eggs, sausage and gravy etc .

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our convenient location and that our staff was knowledgeable and helpful.
Thank you for commenting on the wide variety of foods offered on our complimentary breakfast buffet. It's important to us to get our guests' day started off right!
We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you are in our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    62
    34
    23
    12
See reviews for
73
63
20
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We forgot to check the reviews ahead of time, but we have stayed at many Comfort Inns and had a wonderful experience so we thought we were ok.

The hotel and rooms could us a good updating. The staff was wonderful and helpful and the breakfast was good.

The rooms are small, smelled, and plenty of stains on carpets and bed skirts (looked like a small child had thrown up and was not cleaned up). Wi-Fi was not consistent either.

We did report the items to the staff

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for your loyalty to our brand. Please accept our sincere apologies that all aspects of your most recent stay did not live up to your expectations. While we appreciate your comments on our wonderful staff and complimentary breakfast buffet, we are disheartened by your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the difficulty you encountered with our wireless internet connection. Our management takes all guest concerns and feedback very seriously and we are working hard to address your concerns. Thank you for caring enough to share your feedback. We hope you will stay with us again soon so that we may have the opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Walking into this hotel, the staff was super-friendly and everything seemed promising. However, the only room available was a smoking room so we were a little worried about the smell. There was some lingering cigarette smell, but the mustyness was worse. I am not sure what people mean by clean, because our room had dirt in the edges of the carpet, some unidentified substance splattered on the wall, dirty grout in the bathroom, and the shower was dingy as well. I will say that the beds seemed super clean and were very comfortable. I just don't think there is any excuse for poor housekeeping - I was not looking for dirt and grime, it was very obvious. Otherwise, I almost hate to complain because the people who work here were very nice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave candid feedback on your recent stay. As noted in other reviews, we are generally known not only for our friendly and helpful staff, but also for the cleanliness of our guest rooms. I am very sorry to hear that we did not live up to this reputation during your stay. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping team to ensure your concerns are addressed immediately. We hope that you will stay with us again soon so that we will have the opportunity to replace this experience with an excellent one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Very pleasant stopover on our way back home to FL from PA! First thing.... My husband and I forgot to take a room key with us when we left for dinner, but Juanita saved us by graciously making us another one (and by not making fun of us... Lol) Later, we bought a bottle of wine and then realized we had no way to open it when we returned to the hotel. Juanita was there to rescue us again with a wine key and a big smile!! The beds were awesome and although it wasn't the fanciest place we stayed, everything was comfortable and we enjoyed our stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Thank you for this 5-star review of your recent stay at the Comfort Inn Staunton. It was a pleasure to have you as our guest and I am delighted to hear that you received top-notch customer service while you were with us. We appreciate your comments on our friendly staff and comfortable beds. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Comfort Inn of Staunton, VA

+ pleasant modern room
+ flatscreen TV
+ wi-fi, but only about 1 megabyte/second
+ lots of pillows with coice of soft or hard
+ nice breakfast including do it yourself waffles,
scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy
+ easily adjustable temperature control
+ microwave and small fridge
+ safe in room (see below)
+ easy chair by window
+ hi-tech radio
+ friendly staff

0 some premium channels on TV but no TCM
0 large train track next to parking lot but little noise
heard in motel
0 not a lot of protein other than eggs at breakfast
0 Styrofoam and plastic glasses

- desk chair does not fit under desk, have to keep
walking around
- desk chair rocks on uneven feet
- loud toilet
- not really enough drawer space for two people's
clothing
- very slow elevator for a five-floor building
- slick floor in bathtub
- bathroom crempt
- $1.50/day added to the bill without warning as charge
for having a safe in the room.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave such a detailed review of your stay at the Staunton Comfort Inn. Feedback such as yours allows us to see how we are doing from the perspective of our valued guests which helps us in our efforts to provide the best stay possible for all our guests. We are pleased to hear that, among other things, you enjoyed our stylish décor, choice of pillows, free wifi, friendly staff and complimentary breakfast buffet. We are mindful to take your other feedback to help us shore up any deficiencies you may have encountered during your stay. I have shared your comments with our management and maintenance departments.
The in room safes are installed for the convenience of our guests. A nominal fee based on an honor system is charged for the safe. The safes allow for the storage of valuables including laptop computers without our guests having to go to the front desk and use the safety deposit boxes. If the safe is not used our staff will gladly remove the charge when our guests let us know.
Again, thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your stay. We hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

After a traffic and roadworks laden drive we gave up and pulled off the freeway at Staunton where there was a selection of accommodation. I have no idea what made us choose Comfort Inn but we were very glad of the only room they could offer us on a very busy night (allegedly and we were too weary to care). We had a room with two queen beds for $90 including the usual self service breakfast and all the staff we met were very warm and friendly.

The outstanding thing about this hotel were the beds. I have stayed in all standards of hotels and paid a lot more than this for less comfort. I can honestly say that this was the most heavenly bed that I have slept in, ever, and that includes my own bed at home!! The mattress and pillows are like an embrace, I felt so cossetted. If that sounds dramatic then it is! I will never forget such comfort and all beds will now be measured against that one!! My room mate thought the same of her bed too so it's not just me.

I would love to know who supplies the mattresses and pillows to The Comfort Inn in Staunton VA!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Comfort Inn in Staunton with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to read that after a long and arduous journey you were able to find some respite at our Inn. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as if they were a guest in our own home and I am glad to hear that you were welcomed in this way by our staff. And, of course, we are thrilled to hear that you found our beds and pillows to be so comfortable. Offering our guests a great night's sleep is why we are here!
Again, thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisa, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We sprang for the room with the whirlpool bathtub and it was wonderful. The room was very large and the bathtub was great at the end of a long day. We will definitely stay here again. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the whirlpool bathtub. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests; thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your room with a whirlpool tub and comfortable bed. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.