We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the bed!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 Hotels in Staunton
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Worth it for the bed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

After a traffic and roadworks laden drive we gave up and pulled off the freeway at Staunton where there was a selection of accommodation. I have no idea what made us choose Comfort Inn but we were very glad of the only room they could offer us on a very busy night (allegedly and we were too weary to care). We had a room with two queen beds for $90 including the usual self service breakfast and all the staff we met were very warm and friendly.

The outstanding thing about this hotel were the beds. I have stayed in all standards of hotels and paid a lot more than this for less comfort. I can honestly say that this was the most heavenly bed that I have slept in, ever, and that includes my own bed at home!! The mattress and pillows are like an embrace, I felt so cossetted. If that sounds dramatic then it is! I will never forget such comfort and all beds will now be measured against that one!! My room mate thought the same of her bed too so it's not just me.

I would love to know who supplies the mattresses and pillows to The Comfort Inn in Staunton VA!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Comfort Inn in Staunton with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. It is such a pleasure to read that after a long and arduous journey you were able to find some respite at our Inn. It is our goal to welcome each of our guests as if they were a guest in our own home and I am glad to hear that you were welcomed in this way by our staff. And, of course, we are thrilled to hear that you found our beds and pillows to be so comfortable. Offering our guests a great night's sleep is why we are here!
Again, thank you for being our guest and for sharing your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    57
    34
    23
    10
See reviews for
66
58
18
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisa, Virginia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We sprang for the room with the whirlpool bathtub and it was wonderful. The room was very large and the bathtub was great at the end of a long day. We will definitely stay here again. The bed was very comfortable.

Room Tip: Go for the whirlpool bathtub. It's worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
It is always such a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guests; thank you for taking the time to share your experience! It was our pleasure to have you as our guest and we are thrilled that you enjoyed your room with a whirlpool tub and comfortable bed. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations the next time you are in town!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

My wife and I picked the wrong weekend to visit Charlottesville VA as it was Univ. of VA graduation weekend and everything was booked there so we decided to look at other towns to stay. This hotel fit the bill but because it was grad weekend the prices were much too high for a Hotel such as this, $139 per night for an $89 type of hotel. Now getting that out of my system I will rate it well because the staff were wonderful every time we had any interaction with them. Friendly Staff, comfortable beds and a fine breakfast.

Room Tip: West Side rooms would have better view and not face Farm Equipment retailer and I-81.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
“Friendly staff, comfortable beds and a fine breakfast” - we couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Thank you for being our guest during your recent visit to our area. As happens in most hospitality related industries, special events are occasionally reflected in the rates of hotels in the market. We work hard to ensure that our rates are in line with other hotels in the area while offering an exceptional guest experience. That being said, while we are sorry that you were disappointed with the room rate during your stay, we are very pleased to hear that you were comfortable, enjoyed a fine breakfast and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. We hope that we have won your loyalty and that you will return soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

There were quite a few offerings from the hotel coupon book that were located at this exit. One drawback to the Comfort Inn is that there isn't an indoor pool, but in all of the other aspects, this is a remarkable hotel. Lori checked us in efficiently and she was extremely pleasant and very professional. The room was clean and the bedding is great for a good night's rest. Our only flaw was that there was an eye prescription bottle found at the base of the toilet that must've been dropped by a previous guest and went unnoticed by the housekeeping staff. We truly enjoyed our stay and would definitely recommend this Comfort Inn location.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the Comfort Inn Staunton with other travelers. It appears that you have traveled extensively, so to have a great review from you means the world to us.
Please accept our apologies for the container you found in your bathroom. We have high standards for cleanliness and I have shared your feedback with our housekeeping team.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay and we genuinely appreciate your recommendation to others. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Staunton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland Park, NJ
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stopped here on our way home from the Nascar race in Martinsville,VA.We were tired and we have stopped at this exit off I-81 , its a nice area. We tried the Sleep Inn first and the very rude lady behind the desk told us don't bother waiting we have no rooms, so we went up the road to the Comfort Inn. It was 10:15 at night and the girl behind the desk was great, she was nice and friendly. The room was beautiful, the beds were comfortable and the price was great. We were very pleased. We had a good nights sleep and checked out in the morning. The people at the desk were nice also, there was someone being trained but they were both pleasant . As we checked out the floor in the lobby had just been mopped and the woman was vacuuming the rug so the desk help had to shout and the floor was very slippery( my sister walks with a cane so wet floor is a hazard).I know they need to clean but they shouldn't be doing it at check out time and the vacuum needed to be turned off when people are trying to talk. Other than that we were very happy with the hotel and will definitely stop there again.We missed the free breakfast but it looked ok. We went to the Waffle house right on property.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers here on TripAdvisor. We are so glad you found your way to us after the race and that you were greeted by our friendly staff and a comfortable bed! It is always nice to hear our guests had a good night's sleep - that's what we're here for.
We are mindful of your comments about the timing of housekeeping in public areas and appreciate the feedback.
We hope we have won your loyalty as we look forward to welcoming you back the next time your travels bring you to our area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Litchfield, New Hampshire
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

The room was very nice--clean, attractive, comfortable-- and the breakfast was typically adequate. But what stood out for us was their welcoming attitude towards pets. The receptionist gave each dog a paper bag with a treat, a toy, plastic bags, and a message to be read to the owner about how to take care of the pet during the stay. There was a pet walking area outside the side door and across the street--not fenced in, but with a large garbage can for depositing wastes. The attitude of the place was very positive and proactive. Very much appreciated. Oh, the coupons we got at the state welcome center brought the price down considerably. This will be a definite stop on our future trips north and south.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
It is such a pleasure to to be a pet-friendly hotel and we always love hearing from happy "pet parents". We know how important is it to find quality lodging while traveling with pets.
Thank you for your comments on our clean, comfortable rooms and complimentary breakfast buffet.
We are so glad to hear that you plan to stay with us again when you are next in our area. We look forward to providing you with the same pleasant accommodations on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boone
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at this motel several times. Every stay has been great. You get good service from the people that work there. Rooms are really nice breakfast is good. I would say stay here you want regret it.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
On behalf of the entire Comfort Inn Staunton team, thank you for being our guest and for taking the time to share your experience with others. Your compliments on our hotel, our staff and our complimentary breakfast are especially heartwarming coming from someone who has stayed with us several times and has come to expect a high level of satisfaction. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.