We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Travel Stop” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Save Saved
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Ithaca, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good Value Travel Stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

We've stayed at this hotel twice in the last ten days, going and coming on I-81 from New York State to Georgia. The rooms were clean and spacious, although the bathroom on one night was quite small. Breakfast choices were above par; staff friendly; check-in and check-out were easy. We'll stay here again on our next trip. Very close to I-81 exit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
We so appreciate your taking the time to share your comments about your stays at our Comfort Inn with the Trip Advisor community. We love to hear that a guest experience is so positive that the guest not only returns again but also encourage others to visit with us. As you noted, our location is very convenient to travelers on the I-81 corridor. Loved hearing that the complimentary breakfast variety was above par and that our staff was friendly. Your comments have been shared with the team at the hotel. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    54
    31
    22
    10
See reviews for
63
52
18
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed here about 4 years ago and were very impressed by the cleanliness. This time around it was still pretty clean but looking a bit worn. Again, traveling with our dog, we were not told there would be a fee when we booked only to be charged at the hotel $10 for the dog. (not much but I don't like surprises).
Staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for your return visit. We were very disappointed to hear that your subsequent visit did not meet your expectations and do appreciate your feedback. As a pet friendly hotel, our minimal pet fee is mentioned on the franchise website and the goal is that this is mentioned to our guests during the actual reservation process. We are very sorry that did not happen in your case. Thank you for your compliments on our housekeeping. Annually money is invested back in to the hotel in order to keep it fresh and current. We are pleased to share that sleeping rooms as well as public areas have recently received new carpet and new bedding packages. We do hope you will visit again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Check in was the best part of our stay; the young lady at the front desk was super nice. We arrived around 7:30 pm on Saturday night. The first room (King bed) we were given was on the second floor. The room appeared as though housekeeping had dipped out in the middle of cleaning; mattress was propped up against the wall and vacuum cleaner was sitting in the middle of floor. Staff was apologetic and we were reassigned to a room on the first floor. The room was not as clean as I would have liked for it to be but it was bearable for one night; lots of dust around baseboards and on the sides of the TV stand, etc. The bed was decent and there were two types of pillows to choose from, soft or firm. The heater in the room was a bit annoying because the fan was loud and constantly turning on/off. They offer a huge complimentary breakfast. A few items to choose from that I remember are: scrambled eggs, sausage gravy, make your own waffles, cereals, muffins, bagels, toast, biscuits, yogurt, milk and juice.

Room Tip: Ask to view the room before making a decision.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah H, Guest Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, December 19, 2013
Thank you for the review about your recent stay at the Comfort Inn. We are very pleased to hear that the greeting staff member was "super nice". While it was difficult to hear that other aspects of your stay were not up to par, we appreciate your letting us know so that we are able to use your feedback to retrain our team at the hotel. The initial room that was assigned to you should never have been put back on the market and we apologize for failing to catch that. We have reviewed your comments with our housekeeping staff at the hotel and have reviewed our overall room inspection process. Thank you for sharing the positive feedback about the varied offerings of our complimentary breakfast - our guests do report to us that they enjoy such a plentiful variety. We hope that you will visit again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Handy location just off of I81.
Check-in was quick and easy.
Discount for AAA but not sure about military
Staff very friendly and helpful especially the woman in the breakfast area.
Carpet in room stained.
Bathroom small but clean.
Complimentary breakfast served starting at 6:00 am.
The breakfast looked extensive but we only grabbed a coffee and checked out.
There is also a Waffle House restaurant adjacent to the hotel parking lot.

Room Tip: Lots of truckers stay here. One parked the tractor-trailer parallel to the front of the hotel ten f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the taking the time to post a review about your recent visit at the Comfort Inn Staunton. As you noted, we are convenient to I-81 and close to not only the Waffle House but several other dining options. Thank you for your compliments on the friendliness of our staff! Our complimentary breakfast is extensive - with both hot and cold items - and we hope that during your next visit you'll be able to fully partake! We appreciate your visiting us - hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The room was quite small and the bathroom was very small but the shower was very good. The breakfast was better than that of other similar hotels. The parking lot was very crowded. It was a good location just off the interstate and convenient to restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We appreciate your taking the time to comment on your stay with us. Our close proximity to I-81 and convenience to so many local restaurants is a nice benefit to our guests. Glad to hear that our staff was pleasant and helpful - we are very proud of the way they take care of our guests. And we tend to agree with your comment that our complimentary breakfast with its selection of both hot and cold items is 'better than that of similar hotels'. We hope you visit again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Best stocked breakfast room I have encountered. Iris did a terrific job of keeping things supplied and obviously takes pride in her work. Both the morning and evening front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
'Friendly and helpful staff' is such a nice way to begin a review. Thank you so much for sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community. We couldn't wait to share your comments about Iris with her. She has been a faithful staff member for many years and does indeed take pride in her work - especially as you noted in her helping to provide the 'best stocked breakfast' you have encountered. Our complimentary hot and cold item breakfast is a guest favorite. Thank you also for your comments that the front desk staff was pleasant and helpful. We hope that you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

The employees were very friendly. We were traveling with two dogs, I wish there had been more green space near hotel. Rooms were clean, rug was stained. The toilet seat was loose. Breakfast was good. Convenient to interstate .

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mid_AtlanticMichele, Public Relations Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
We appreciate our guests taking the time to share their experience about their stay with us. Feedback is very important to us and helps us to ensure future guest stays are pleasurable. As you noted, we are very convenient to the interstate as well as several dining and shopping options. We are so proud of our friendly staff and glad to hear that they took good care of you. Thank you for your compliments on our cleanliness and complimentary breakfast - we also appreciate your alerting us to the loose toilet seat. Thank you for visiting and please come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 1302 Richmond Ave., Staunton, VA 24401
Location: United States > Virginia > Staunton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 15 hotels in Staunton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in the Shenandoah Valley on Interstate 81, the Comfort Inn® hotel in Staunton is surrounded by the majestic Blue Ridge Mountains. This Virginia hotel is near Frontier Culture Museum, Mary Baldwin College, Woodrow Wilson Presidential Library and Blue Ridge Parkway scenic drive. Additional points of interest near the Staunton Comfort Inninclude Blackfriars Playhouse, Skyline Drive, Natural Chimneys and Grand Caverns, P. Buckley Moss Museum, and James Madison University.Local businesses minutes from the hotel include DuPont,Genicom, Hershey's Chocolate, McKee Foods and the Virginia Military Institute. While in Staunton, be sure to visit the quaint antique shops, local restaurants and lounges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Staunton
Comfort Inn Staunton
Staunton Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.